What do you rock out to?

Great article on the Onion’s AV Club about rocking & working out.

Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of gypsy punk like Gogol Bordello, experimental metal like Polkadot Cadaver and Circus of Dead Squirrels, and the post-hardcore stuff like Every Time I Die, He is Legend and Maylene & the Sons of Disaster

That upbeat tempo of the Eastern European punk rock is really invigorating and I can get into a nice groove. The heavy stuff has always been really energizing for me, although sometimes when I’m out on a long run it’s nice to listen to something more soothing and meditative like Air, Radiohead, Zero 7, the Mars Volta and Stars of the Lid.

But when I run in races, I don’t listen to any music. Not just because its a rule (that nobody follows!) but because I think part of the experience of running a race is interacting with the people around you and listening to everything that’s going on. I think if you have headphones on you alienate yourself from those around you. But that’s just me!

What do you like to listen to when you’re running?

3 thoughts on “What do you rock out to?

  1. Pingback: Running Music! « Crazy Girl Running's Blog

  2. Pingback: Running Music! « Crazy Girl Running's Blog

  3. While I’m not a runner, I’ve been researching and reading a lot about running music and your reasons for sometimes not wanting music makes sense. I think it also makes sense that music can actually help your running if it has the “right” beat that helps you keep to your pace. I just recently posted a few playlists w/ over 7 hrs of music for runners based on their running pace. The songs have a faster Beats Per Minute (BPM) so you don’t subconsciously slow down to the beat of a song. It has a lot of alternative/indie bands, but also rock and some R&B… The Killers, Gorillaz, XTC, Kings of Leon, Kooks, Strokes, Arctic Monkeys, Matchbox Twenty, Stones, The Police, etc. All songs are either inspirational, about running, or just fun. Check it out at:
    http://www.remanents.com/blog/best-running-music-playlist-marathon/

Leave a Reply

