still above ground, for now

Well, I didn’t die, and I don’t have swine flu.

But that fever about did me in. It was only 100.4, but it is incredible what just 2 degrees will do to your body. Everything ached, and I was FREEZING cold. “They” say not to overdress when you have a fever, but damn them, I had on two pairs of sweatpants and two sweatshirts and I was STILL cold.

I stayed home Thursday and pretty much slept all day. Friday wasn’t really much better except that the fever was gone. I’m still pretty congested, but I think the worst of it has passed.

Needless to say, I wasn’t able to do my 11 mile run this morning, and I’m super bummed about it. Now I have to decide whether I still go for 12 miles next week, or just do 11. After that I start my taper, and I don’t wanna wear myself out again before the half marathon.

Bleh.

Anyhoo, a great old friend is coming to visit this weekend and we plan to catch up and eat some great food and drink some great beer. The tasting room at the new Sun King Brewing Company downtown is open now, so we may have to head down there later. I’m dying to try their Imperial Rye IPA.

It’s supposed to freeze tonight, so I picked all the tomatoes and basil left in the garden. I think I can get some of the tomatoes to ripen by leaving them in a warm, dark place under newspaper (they’re under the sink right now). We’ll see.

009

As for the basil, I’m gonna make a buttload of pesto and freeze it in batches. I started some of it this morning, but ran out of pine nuts. We’re gonna gave pesto all winter long!

005

Later –

Leave a Reply

