Breaking even

Had a great 9 mile run today. It was cold and windy, but fortunately it didn’t rain. I’ve been caught in downpours 4 miles from home and lemme tell you, it is not fun.

My normal routine for the long run has been to hide a bottle of water and an energy gel at my halfway point. I’m always very enthusiastic about making it to that halfway point, which fuels me and keeps me from turning around early! And the last few times I’ve been very lucky to find a perfect place to hide my goods AND a bin or dumpster for the trash. My nightmare is having to carry it my hand for the rest of the way home! So far, that hasn’t happened.

I’ve found the gel I like most is Accel Gel. NO energy gels taste all that great to me, but this one doesn’t seem to taste as much like snot as others I’ve tried -haha!- but everybody’s different. I just tried ’em all until I found one I liked.

Plus, my ipod stayed juiced this time, which was helpful. One of the songs I heard was Nomad by Sepultura, hehe.

So, after a fantastic 9 mile run, I immediately canceled out all my efforts by eating everything in the house. Okay, exaggeration. But just barely.

For lunch I snacked on some of the leftover sausage/broccoli pasta and a Kennebunkport Pumpkin Ale:

028

I’m normally a purist when it comes to beer – I don’t really like the “flavory” stuff, but this one was not bad. Light, 4.7% alcohol with just a hint of pumpkin spice. Plus, it only cost me a dollar.

(Tip: at TJs they have a lot of single dollar-beers you can buy, so, no regrets.)

For dinner I made orange chicken (also from Trader Joes) with broccoli and basmati rice. Leave it to me to fall in love with the most unhealthy thing you can buy at Trader Joes! But it was gooood.

031

Tomorrow’s a rest day – I’ll probably go to the gym and do some lifting and biking. As for tonight, I’m debating on whether or not to break open a bottle of wine. Reading in bed and sipping wine last night was so cozy and tranquil, it just sounds like a good idea to do it again!

Peace –

UPDATE: Opened a bottle of the Chuck Shaw International – a chardonnay from S. Australia. I am not a snob when it comes to wine and the 2 Buck Chuck has never done me wrong!

2 thoughts on “Breaking even

Leave a Reply

