going to bed early tonight because I’m awesome

Yep, I’m headed to bed to read and finish this bottle glass of wine:

018

Since I partied so heartily last night, I owe it to myself to stay in tonight so I can be rested for the 8 mile run I skipped this morning!

I went to the gym today, lifted, ran one mile on the treadmill and then climbed about two miles straight up on the stair climber.

I made mom’s famous Shrimp Fiesta Soup for dinner –

017

It’s to die for – and really easy:

  • 1 medium yellow onion (I love vidalias)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 32 oz. chicken broth
  • 2 small cans of Rotel tomatoes
  • 1/3 cup of salsa
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 or 2 lbs. cooked shrimp, peeled, no tails
  • I also add some jalapeno slices, just for extra spice
  • Garnish: sliced avocado, cilantro, tortilla chips, lime and cheddar cheese (I didn’t have any cheddar so I used mozzarella – it was fine.)

Just saute the garlic and onion in your stock pot with some oil, then add the broth, tomatoes, salsa and corn, and simmer a while. Add the cooked shrimp and simmer for 10 more minutes before serving – and voila!

When I started cooking I realized we didn’t have any salsa, so I made my own – a first for me!

016

I just used some canned tomatoes and some fresh diced ones, some onion, lime, garlic, green chile, jalapeno, garlic salt, and cilantro. It was actually pretty awesome!

I have a little Cuisinart food prep that I love – it’s perfect for making sauces and dips. (I also use it when I make pesto.)

Mkay – off to bed – goodnight!

Leave a Reply

