T minus five days ’til the half marathon!

I didn’t get a chance to blog about my run yesterday because I was too busy watching football. (Bad blogger, bad!)

But it went great – I did 8 miles and it was pretty easy! My calf was still a little tender, but it actually stopped hurting after about a mile or two – miraculous.

I have really begun to enjoy my little halfway point pit stops. This time, my predetermined pit stop was in a little neighborhood that is still under development. I sat down in the middle of the street a did a little stretching while I drank my water and ate (slurped?!) my energy gel. This is what truly gets me through the second half of my run!

I used to think that it was comparable to cheating to stop at any point during the run. When I ran my first half-marathon, I was so determined to run straight through that I didn’t even stop at the water stations — I just jogged slow enough to grab a cup and pour some water in my mouth while I was still moving.

But now that I’m all grown up (ha!), I don’t think there’s anything wrong with taking a quick break to stretch and drink some water. You don’t want to stop long enough to stiffen up of course, but I am of the opinion that whatever it takes to finish the race is fair game. It’s not like I’m Paula Radcliffe – stopping to stretch is not going to make much of a difference at all.

So after my thoroughly enjoyable time-out, I was refreshed, hydrated and ready to get back on the road. The last four miles seemed easier than the first four (okay – almost!) There’s a stop sign that is exactly 2 miles from my house, and I was surprised to come up on it so quickly – and while I still felt good. Those little landmarks can be really encouraging!

I can’t believe the half marathon is next this week! These 10 weeks of training have gone by so fast. I feel pretty lucky to have had only a couple of minor setbacks (getting sick; having some random aches and pains). This course is supposed to be flat and fast – hoping for a PR!

Anyhoo – just had some granola, blueberries and yogurt for breakfast and some Columbian Supremo from Trader Joes (sorry no photos!)

Hope you are all having a great day. Peace –

Leave a Reply

