my 21st century kick or: the perfect mid-tempo workout

One of my favorite things to do in the 21st century is burn CDs for people. Partly, it is the narcissistic belief that I listen to cooler music than anyone else on earth (Not true! My friends constantly surprise and delight me with new and wonderful music I have never heard before.)

Anywhatthehellhappenedtonapster, I made a CD for a friend and I’ve pretty much been listening to it on repeat for a week or so. (Eventually, I will give her the CD – just.not.yet.)

So I wanted to share it with yalls tonight because obviously, in my infinite wisdom narcissism, I have chosen songs that are ideal for a nice, leisurely jog in the park. Some of them are new, and some are pretty old, but all of them are awesome.

pla

My morning jacket – one big holiday (live)
elbow – the bones of you
matisyahu – one day
Del tha funkee homosapien feat. dinosaur jr. – missing link
Toots & the Maytals – Take me home, country road
Devotchka – queen of the surface streets
Wilco – Jesus, Etc.
Jimmy eat world – bleed american
Raconteurs – steady as she goes
Them crooked vultures – mind eraser, no chaser
The Shins – Phantom Limb
Deadboy & the Elephantmen – Stop, I’m already dead
dangermouse & jemini – ghetto pop life
Dropkick Murphys – Shipping up to Boston
Them crooked vultures – new fang
social d – dear lover
XTC – Dear God
de la soul, teenage fanclub – Fallin’

I go through phases – sometimes I’ll go for weeks on end listening to nothing but death metal, then I’ll listen to ambient/electronic. Then bluegrass. This week, I appear to be on an alt rock kick.

Pay special attention to Them Crooked Vultures – Keith Buckley of Every Time I Die says this band just might save rock n roll…

I think he’s right.

Leave a Reply

