Stir crazy

Lunch break!

I made some more of those ridicu-awesome sweet potato tacos again today, this time adding some cilantro, which, like green chile, is one of my go-to ingredients that I add to just about any recipe.

I’m also enjoying a pumpkin spice soy latte from the devil Starbucks – something I can never get enough of!  Despite my revulsion for corporations, SBs is just one of those guilty pleasures I can’t do without – like watching the spectacularly bad movie Bring it On and eating ice cream in my jammies while my husband is at work.  I don’t go to Starbucks every day – but once or twice a month I treat myself to a giant black coffee or some kind of flavory soymilk latte, and I’m fixed.

Anyhoo,  one of the things that annoys me about drive-throughs in general and Starbucks in particular, is the way they try to push product on you in their greeting:

“Hi, welcome to Starbucks, my name is so-and-so, would you like to try a pumpkin muffin or a strawberry vivanno smoothie today?”

I’m always very polite, mostly because I don’t want them to go commando on my drink, but this is a marketing tactic that I have always particularly despised.

The only thing I hate more is when they interrupt you in the middle of ordering to ask you if you want to upgrade to blah blah blah for just a dollar more (ahem, I’m talking to you, Panera Bread!)

Now SBs is trying a new -and even more annoying- tactic with their new Via instant coffee – they offer to “buy” your coffee for you if you agree to try (meaning, buy) the Via. A good deal, right? Free coffee?

Here’s where they get you, though: you can buy a small 3-cup sample of the Via for like, 2 bucks — but they try to upgrade you to a whole big ol’ vat of the stuff, which is more like $9. They’re hoping by the time you pull around to the window they can talk you into upsizing. Then, your free $4 coffee has just cost you $9. Genius!

Gone are the days when baristas would know your name, personally greet you,  recommend you drinks based on your likes and dislikes, and every once in a while slip you a free biscotti or a little extra syrup in your drink, just to let you know they care. Now, all they wanna do is con you into buying more stuff.

Okay, rant completed. I think I’m just feeling a little stir crazy from being cooped up inside all day while there’s a beautiful afternoon happening right outside my window. Hopefully this energy will stay with me long enough to hit the gym tonight…ha! That’s never the case. 😉

Leave a Reply

