more blender fun

Sludge!

I don’t have a juicer, so I’m juicing the ghetto way – using my food prep to grind all the stuff together and then throwing it in the blender with some ice to finish liquifying it. Lame!

Don’t you think a juicer would make a great Christmas present? I do.

Anyhoo – today I used a disgusting-sounding recipe I found at GOOP:

Beet, carrot, apple, ginger, and also I added one stalk of celery.

And I just have to say I am really not a big fan of Gwyneth. She has said a few things that make her sound like she thinks we’re all just a bunch of fat, unsophisticated slobs. And I also hate Coldplay, so that makes it a twofer. A hate twofer. Hehe.

But I have found some recipes on her site that I adore, so she gets points for that. Of course, when you’re a gazillionaire, its easy to cook interesting and delightful foods all the time. On a budget; not so much.

So I’m gonna finish this bright red drink and head outside for a run! I feel pretty good today. I failed at raw, and I failed at vegan (just barely) this weekend but I have managed to be vegetarian for the past two days, so that’s something. And while it might be fun to try to do one vegan day a week, or one raw day a week, I’m really not trying to go nuts here. I don’t have any ethical dilemma about eating animals (although I do try to eat free range/cage free), and I eat pretty healthfully most of the time anyway so there’s no reason to make any drastic changes in my diet. I just need to cut out some of the processed foods I eat during the week and stay dedicated to running and working out, and I’ll be fine.

By the way, who’s doing a turkey trot/drumstick dash this Thanksgiving? Indy’s is a 4.5 mile run and it benefits the Wheeler Mission. Plus, its a great way to eat guilt-free for the rest of the day!

Okay, hope you’re having a great Sunday – peace!

One thought on “more blender fun

  1. The only reason I partake in a road race every Thanksgiving is so I can binge eat myself into a coma after.

    And how can you truly not be inspired by Gwen’s pseudo-intellectual babble on how she would rather talk about art and culture than the brand of jeans she is sporting? GOOP truly defines what class really is.

Leave a Reply

