blehhhhh.

Don’t know what happened to me today but my head decided to quit me and take a little vacation. I was draggin’ all day long – I could barely keep my eyes open. It’s been a really, really, hard week. Aside from personal stuff I won’t bore you with, I also think I have jet lag from flying to the Mountain Time Zone, which I did not think was possible. I didn’t feel this bad when I flew 11 hours home from Germany and had to go to work the next day. (I am possibly exaggerating.)

And, I can’t stand it when people blog about the weather, but I’m just going to say that I TRIED to go running outside again today but it was 20°F, gusting 40 mph winds and snowing. Plus, the ground was frozen and slick from the rain we got earlier today. Just throw in a tidal wave and you’ve got the Day After Tomorrow.

Runner’s World has this tool on their website that I like to call Dress the Runner. (I think that’s what it actually used to be called.) Basically, you get to set the weather conditions and it tells you what you should wear for your run.

I have tried to no avail to trick this program. For instance, I type in that it is sunny, -35°F, with gale force winds; or that it’s 125°F, calm, and snowing. I am hoping to crash the program. No such luck.

It tells me to wear more clothes, wear less clothes, wear sunscreen, sunglasses, bring a bat (typo but it stays); but it has never once told me I’m nuts and to please, for the love of god, stay inside.

So instead of doing as I was told and donning a winter cap, long sleeve shirt, pants, thermal, tights, vest, jacket and gloves, I went to the gym and did speedwork in shorts and a t-shirt. Not because I like it; because it gets me home and into the tub that much faster. And, this might make me less of a runner, but I don’t do ice baths. Period.

Luckily I had some nice warm oatmeal this morning, with cinnamon, bananas and almond butter. A while ago I bought some steel cut oats from TJs and I’ve never looked back. Quaker Oats? Bah!

MMMM. Warmfs.

Then after the gym and the requisite HOT bath, I found some spaghetti squash in the fridge from a while ago (still good!) and threw together a quick sauce to put on it: I just lightly blended some canned tomatoes, basil, hot sauce and oil and then added some sauteed garlic, onions and mushrooms. Voila! Dinner is served. Ragu? Bah!

And now its way past my bedtime, so I’m going to go cuddle with the cat and read a book in bed.

Peace –

2 thoughts on “blehhhhh.

Leave a Reply

