…while visions of enchiladas danced in their heads…

Morning!

I had a slow recovery from my late-night beer drinking/juicing episode last night (okay, not really). I had some coffee and warmed up some leftover quiche:

I reeeeeally didn’t feel like working out today, but I decided to suck it up and run 5 miles in the snow before I had a chance to talk myself out of it.

Its been snowing steadily since I woke up at about 8:30 and since there wasn’t any hope of it getting warmer, I just went for it. It was actually pretty nice out there. In hindsight, I should have worn a hat with a brim, because I kept getting snowflakes in my eyes. (Turns out, contrary to the song, it is not one of my favorite things.)

I also got a pedometer from hubby for Christmas and I was anxious to try it out.

I looked at the GPS watches for a while too, but I think I actually like the pedometer better because it doesn’t rely on line of sight for accuracy and you don’t risk losing contact with a satellite because of tall buildings and trees. As long as your stride is fairly consistent, it works.

That said, I used the first couple of miles to determine the length of my stride. It was a great day for it because I could see my steps in the snow. The default setting on the device was a one-foot stride, which was way too short. I didn’t bring a measuring stick with me or anything, but just eyeballing it, I figured my stride was was about two feet, give or take. After I revised the device’s stride setting, it seems to work pretty well. I know its not dead-on balls accurate, but it is a good gauge and it also has a clock on it. Score!

And now that I’m BACK, I feel great. Today’s post-run mix: kiwi and green apple. Very tart.

Right now I’m actually just trying to kill 20 minutes while I ice my ankle before I run and take a hot bath. After that, I’m going to have some real food. I bought all the ingredients to make a chicken enchilada casserole for the in-laws but didn’t end up needing it, so I’ll probably whip that up today.

I’m also seeing a bloody mary and a football game in my near future…

Have a great day! Later –

2 thoughts on “…while visions of enchiladas danced in their heads…

  1. I have a GPS watch and really like…I never really have issues with trees or buildings, but I don’t do any deep woods trail running…

    This is totally “guy” of me, but that quiche just doesn’t look yummy. Maybe it is my aversion to anything green.

Leave a Reply

