Total chili day

Happy New Year!

Here we are in the aftermath of last night’s carnage:

Yep, we are sexy. Swoon, people.

One of my friends got up and ran a race this morning at 7 a.m. While I was very much impressed, I was also very much asleep in my bed until 11, and there’s a lot to be said for that.

The hubby said something about chili this morning and I couldn’t get it out of my head. So we said the hell with black eyed peas and threw together a white bean chicken chili that turned out soooo good. I just love it when I have a good idea AND all the ingredients.

I started out by sauteing the onions, garlic and jalapenos in some oil and chili powder:

Then I poached the chicken and threw it in there with some chicken stock, a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes, tomato paste, corn, green chile, great northern and cannellini beans, oregano, cumin, cilantro and celery salt and pepper and then just let it simmer for a couple hours.

Awesome.

That’s really the only thing I accomplished today. We were going to take down all the Christmas junk and put the tree away but we decided to lay around and watch bad movies instead. I haven’t even showered yet, and I’m pretty sure I can smell myself. I can already tell 2010 is going to be a great year.

Leave a Reply

