do you smell that?

Duuuuuuuuuude. Started my day the nutella way this morning – Starbucks and sprouted wheat bread wih creamy hazelnut goodness. Nutella should be paying me.

Just looking at this picture makes me feel warm and fuzzy…

And then we did something completely out of the ordinary and ate dinner at…da da daaaaa….Popeye’s.

I love Popeye’s – it is effing awesome. I’ve actually only eaten there like, three times in my life, but when I need my fried chicken fix, that’s where I go.

Anyhoo, the food was great as always – chicken, red beans & rice and one of those hot fluffy biscuits that you know probably has a jillion calories…hello, how could it NOT be good…

But that place was HOT – there was no ventilation in there at all. The windows were covered in condensation and the dining room was literally steaming. And now my jacket smells like chicken. My hair smells like chicken. Even my scarf smells like chicken. I have chicken coming out of my pores. It sure tasted good in my mouth but now I’m having major Popeye’s remorse. I think I actually grew a zit while I was in there. Feels like I took a steam bath in fryer fat.

So, when I got home I really needed to sweat out all the nasty. I didn’t want to go to the gym (trust me, I drove past it on the way home and I could see all the legions of angry exercisers cursing each other and fighting over the equipment), so instead I dragged out the stability ball and did a buttload of crunches, pushups and leglifts on the floor in front of the tv. Feelin’ the burn. Ohhhh yeah.

Now I’m having a double green tea to complete my detox –

– and vowing to wait at least another year before I give into my Popeye’s urge again. I probably will have burned off all the calories by then too.

7 thoughts on “do you smell that?

  1. I’ve never been to Popeye’s, though this one is pretty close to where I work:

    (Gee, can’t imagine why that news story went viral ;p! Nothing potentially controversial at all …yikes.)

    Anyhow, I think I’ve eaten a pound of Jelly Beans over the last week. I can’t imagine it feels any better than the chicken.

  2. I didn’t realize Popeye’s existed in real life. I thought they were some make-believe chicken joint solely existing for movie entertainment purposes. Who knew?

    • Be afraid, be very afraid. I once worked with someone OBSESSED WITH IT. Like, he ate there daily. If I saw it, I’d come damn close to throwing up.

      I am sure he was up in arms about them running out of Chicken that day too, but apparently he didn’t call into the news station early enough to get his outrage on film. Or perhaps he didn’t fit the demographic the local news media was looking to exploit that day.

Leave a Reply

