An epic night for beer geeks

“You know, the day you open a ’61 Cheval Blanc, that’s the special occasion.” -Sideways (2004)

So, it wasn’t a ’61 Cheval Blanc, but then again we’re not wine snobs either…

Tom broke out five Stone Vertical Epics last night for a small group of loyal beer geeks at Patrick’s. He said he’d been saving them for a special occasion, which reminded me of the line from Sideways. Lesson: when you open a bottle of beer that was conceived on April 4, 2004 and has never seen the light of day, it’s a special occasion.

Each bottle-conditioned ale is released (for a limited time) one year, one month and one day from the previous year’s edition and are designed to be aged until sometime after December 12th, 2012. (They are meant to be enjoyed in a “vertical” tasting, according to the Web site.)

Tom had the 04.04.04, 05.05.05, 06.06.06, 07.07.07 and the 09.09.09. (If anyone has an 08.08.08, call me!)

A heated discussion…

Bob and Tom…

Craig, home brewer extraordinaire…

Rita Kohn, senior writer for Nuvo. (Patrick calls her a beer goddess…she really knows her stuff.)

Great time, good conversation, outstanding beer. If you’re putzing around Zionsville next Thursday, you should stop by.

Next week: Stone Anniversary beers.

(And tomorrow: a loooong run!)

6 thoughts on “An epic night for beer geeks

  1. Fact: I initially glanced at this post quickly and the ’61 Cheval Blanc popped up and I practically screamed “SIDEWAYS!!!!” in my office, which I’m sure would have drawn dirty looks.

    I actually FOUND A ’61 Cheval Blanc around here when I ventured into the “fine wine” room at a wine store around here and had to call a friend to come look at it because I am THAT LAME.

    Otherwise, the number thing amused me far too much for my own good.

      • I have no idea – a few hundred dollars maybe? So, no. 😉 I do like looking in the wine room though I get paranoid they’re going to throw me out since I am so clearly unable to afford anything….

      • Pretty much. Especially because I’m pretty sure I was wearing sweats and called someone before I even left the room. I think I ended up buying this instead and made sure that the next time I went in that room to show someone the bottle, I wasn’t dressed quite as slovenly.

        Though I’m sure I still stood out like a sore thumb ;p

Leave a Reply

