a failed experiment in couscous

Judging by how long it took me and how lame I felt afterward, I am convinced that a four-mile run through the snow in 12 degree weather is equivalent to a six-mile run on a clean road in mild conditions.

I did accomplish everything I set out to do today. I think laying it all out on the blog beforehand helped. I knew if I didn’t do everything I said I was going to I’d either have to lie about it later or admit defeat. So shame basically motivated me. Go shame.

I made a fantastic smoothie that I drank in between crunches on the floor in front of the tv. I think this was one of the best ones yet. Strawberries, kiwi and golden raspberries, which I didn’t even know existed.

Delish.

After icing my ankle I took a hot bath and then set on the task of watching tv on the couch in front of a raging fire. I’m not sure which was more rewarding – the run, or the couch. (Duh, it was the couch.)

For dinner I screwed up the couscous just like I thought I would; wasn’t my fault though.

One of the first recipes that came up when I googled “couscous” was an Ina Garten Moroccan dish. All of the reviews were good except one person who said it was bland…and, it kinda was.

I think Ina cooks with too much butter so I subbed extra virgin to saute the shallots. And, since I wasn’t ready to serve it right away, I cooked the couscous as directed but then I strained the stock into my crock pot and cooked some chicken in there with all the other ingredients – plus some rosemary. Then when we were ready for dinner I just threw the couscous in there and served it up. The chicken was awesome, naturally, after simmering all day long it was really tender.

So, dinner it wasn’t mind-blowing, but it wasn’t bad either. We just had to add a little hot sauce for extra flavor.

Don’t really know what I did wrong, but oh well. Sometimes you do exactly what the recipe tells you and it still falls flat. I’m not stressing about it. If you screw up dinner, there’s always wine…

And, I might be MIA tomorrow because we’re making a quickie trip to Chicago to see the Blackhawks! A buddy came into some awesome tickets – club level – at a great price and we couldn’t say no. It’ll be my first NHL game so I’m hoping to see some blood.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

