me time

Ahhhhh, Saturday!

I meant to wake up much earlier today but I ended up watching Halloween (the 2007 Rob Zombie remake, which is brutal, by the way) and Texas Chainsaw Massacre (the original) until midnight, so I just lounged around in bed for another hour this morning, thinking about things and planning my day.

Hubby works overnights Friday and Saturdays; he gets home around 6 a.m. and sleeps until about 1 or 2. So I kinda love this part of the day because I’m all by myself and I can do whatever I want…quietly, of course. But really, he sleeps like the dead and I’ve never woken him up.

So here’s the plan for my Saturday: I’ve got some steel cut oats simmering on the stove and a hot cup of green tea in front of me. I want to do some stability ball exercises again today – just some crunches and leg-lifts because I love how it feels when my abs hurt. (I really do. I don’t have abs of steel, but they somehow look better when they’re sore.) Plus, I am still avoiding the gym for a few more weeks. It feels like such a waste of money but I can’t stand to walk into that place and face the hoards of people. Going to the gym is supposed to be Me Time, but I can’t relax and focus when with so many people around. I still haven’t gotten it in me to get up and go the gym at 5 a.m.

Then I’ll putz around for a while, eat some breakfast and read a little. After that I have to hit the grocery store. I want to make something fantastic for dinner tonight. I bought a box of couscous a while back that I haven’t had the guts to try to screw up yet…

I actually did pretty good with some random stuff around the house last night – I baked chicken with rosemary, a little parm and some of that Goddess dressing from TJs. Hubby marinated it all day so it was really juicy and tender. Then I just sauteed some veggies in a pan and added hot sauce. Not too shabby.

And…I’m going to run today. It’s about 12°F; so, pretty warm, ha ha. But there’s about five inches of snow on the ground so I think a trail run is out, for me at least. My ankle’s been hurting since the last trail run and I think if I try to run on the snow that’s undoubtedly hiding all those vicious obstacles underneath – rocks, ice, branches – I will most likely hurt myself again. But the roads in my neighborhood are almost like trails anyway – you can’t even see any actual street peeking through yet, so it should be sufficiently challenging.

After that, we’re going to build a fire and just kick it. I’m thinking by then I will have earned some serious snuggle time on the couch for the rest of the day.

3 thoughts on “me time

  1. That sounds like a seriously great day. My hubby works nights one week a month. And I totally get that feeling of loving the “me” time.

    And your food? Looks delicious! I am a terrible cook. Well, not terrible, but not great. Healthy food means I managed to get something hot on the table and vegetables are included.

  2. aw thanks! I try…I think I just enjoy cooking so much, it doesn’t seem like a chore to me. Now, raising three kids AND getting hot food on the table – now THAT’s a magic act! 😉

Leave a Reply

