a sort-of recipe

Morning bloggies,

So, I made hubby’s favorite last night – picante chicken – but I forgot to take pictures. Just visualize it.

This is a recipe my mama gave me. It’s quick and easy and you pretty much can’t screw it up:

Picante Chicken

  • Take a couple of boneless, skinless breasts and cook them (I like to poach them in whatever I’m using to cook the rest of the dish so that I only have to dirty one pan.)
  • When the chicken is nearly done, add some diced garlic and onion and saute it in the pan (add diced jalapenos if you like it extra spicy).
  • Add about a cup of chicken stock/broth and a nice, big glob of whatever kind of salsa/picante sauce that you like. (Last night I used the Garlic Chipotle from TJs and it was awesome.) I add a bit of cayenne at this point too.
  • Add half a cup of rice (or however much your liquid:rice ratio calls for – I am partial to basmati), cover and simmer until the rice has absorbed all the moisture. You can leave the cooked chicken in there too so it can keep absorbing all the juices and flavor.
  • Top with any or all: lime wedge, parsley, cilantro, tomato, avocado, hot sauce, shredded cheese.

Hope that makes sense. I’m kind of a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants type of cook. I fudge recipes, I never measure anything and I add hot sauce to everything. Most of the time it works out.

High 30s today – perfect day for a trail run! Peace!

3 thoughts on “a sort-of recipe

Leave a Reply

