contaminated

Took the day off yesterday, and I mean reeeeally took the day off.

I didn’t sleep all night Sunday. Finally, coughing up chunks of lung and mucousy bits of my own sanity, I got up at 4 a.m. and crashed on the couch with my head propped up. I would have gotten some sleep but for the sound of my snoring that woke me up every time I began to nod off.

I drifted in and out until about 6, when I sat up just long enough to call my nice, very understanding and gracious new boss and tell him I wasn’t coming into work, take some more medicine and sack out again until oh…11:00. At which point I got back in bed and slept some more.

I finally got out of bed around 2:00 and had just enough strength to stagger back out to the couch, eat a small bowl of soup (finally lost that appetite I bragged so much about), and watch an Intervention marathon until 10:00. Literally. I did not get off the couch for eight hours. And I am probably qualified to host an intervention now.

And I just have to give a shout-out to my husband for putting up with me the whole time. He went out in the snow and bought me orange juice and sprite and Ricolas (hands-down, my favorite lozenge). He wouldn’t let me get up for anything.

And, I really prefer to do the cooking, because I’m just better at it (except when it comes to grilling — he’s definitely the Grill Master). But yesterday my better half was like, “nope, you’re contaminated, go lay down.” And he made awesome shrimp fiesta soup and brought it to me on the couch.

I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing the same thing for him in a day or two when he comes down with this bug.

I headed back to work this morning feeling a LOT better. I do still have some lingering congestion and one ear that won’t pop — so annoying. I tried to do that plug-your-nose-and-blow thing and that didn’t work. I think it made it worse. Come to think of it, that’s probably a great way to burst an eardrum. Oooooh, is that blood?

Just finished up my second bowl of soup of the day and I’m about to head bedward with more tea. But I’ll tell you what, this soup diet is doing wonders for my figure. I think I lost two pounds today. Swweeeeeet.

I’m looking forward to getting back out there and running at SOME point this week. But right now, I’d settle for just being able to hear out of both ears.

3 thoughts on “contaminated

  1. Get better soon! I think that whole not being able to breath out of one side of your nose and having to prop your head up is the worst. I usually stay up all night, still not able to breath and end up with a sore neck in the morning. Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

