weekend wrapup

ZZZZZZZZZZ

Yesterday was pretty durn awesome.

The 10k: meh. Not as good as I’d have liked. I finished in an hour, five and it BUGS ME ’cause I know I am better than that. I should have finished in an hour, tops. Plus, I’m so stiff today and there’s just no reason for that. I drank plenty of water and stretched and I still feel like I ran 30 miles instead of 6.2.

I blame the shoes. I’m headed out to buy some new Pearl Izumis here in a minute. They say one test is if you can bend the toe all the way back to the heel; well, I can practically tie mine in a knot.

And…for my beer peeps, I’m still trying to piece together the details of yesterday’s Gravity Head festivities because my CAMERA BATTERY DIED halfway through (stupid me, saw the little “low batt” icon yesterday morning and still forgot to charge it).

BUT the Hoosier Beer Geeks should probably have a pretty good recap on their blog later today. From me, all you get is a list of what I drank and a dodgy photo gallery. And you’ll like it.

We started out with some Sun King — I had a taste of the Red Rye IPA (6% ABV, 29 IBUs) at the brewery and then a Sunlight Cream (5.3% ABV, 20 IBUs) on the bus. Both great beers but not nearly enough hops for my taste.

New Albanian has two locations in New Albany, IN — the Bank Street Brew House and the Pizzeria/Pub on Grant Line. We started out at Bank Street, tasting NABC’s own brews.

I had the Hoptimus IPA (10.7% ABV, 100 IBUs), and the Thunderfoot Russian Imperial Stout (11.7% ABV, 84 IBUs).

Then we hopped back on the bus and headed over to Grant Line for the high gravity beers. They had a list that included NABC’s beers as well as a huge list of guest beers on tap.

I had:

Founders Curmudgeon Old Ale – 9.3% ABV, 50 IBUs
Dogfish Head Olde School Barleywine – 15% ABV, 85 IBUs
Boulder Mojo Risin’ – 10.5% ABV, 95 IBUs
Coney Island Human Block Head – 8.5% ABV, 90 IBUs

Yeah — definitely a lot of beer, but they were all just 8 and 10 oz. pours, plus, we behaved ourselves and drank plenty of water and ate plenty of food. (there was also a fantastic spinach, sun dried tomato and black olive pizza at Grant Line that we inhaled, unfortunately after my camera died.)

I think my favorite was NABC’s Hoptimus. I have only been a beer geek for a little while, but my mouth knows what it likes, and it definitely prefers the hoppier beers.

And I really wish I’d gotten a photo of everybody on the way home. I slept absolutely the entire way back – literally, I closed my eyes and then, bam, we’re pulling into the parking lot at Sun King just shy of midnight – but I’m told there was some ruckus snoring as well as some unusual smells going on. Imagine 50 dudes (and about five women) all on a bus together after drinking high gravity beers for 12 hours. Not pretty.

But I had a blast and I just wish hubby could have gone along too. He was on the midnight yesterday and drinking beer just is not conducive to work. (Plus, he’s got something called a conscience and refuses to call in sick when he’s not sick. Weird, I know.) Next year!

Okay – I’m off. I feel like crap but I’m going to attempt a short run today, if for no other reason than to break in the new shoes and prevent myself from being even stiffer tomorrow!

Peace –

8 thoughts on “weekend wrapup

  1. As much as I am not going to be obsessing about my time in the upcoming Marathon, I find myself starting at my split times when I am running. I swear I am just going to have fun at this one…I swear…really. It has been a tough winter to train., just have another beer.

    • HAHA – yeah, it just looks like a warehouse from outside. I think we actually were in the parking lot at one point and just didn’t know it. There are better signs out front now. 🙂

  2. Pingback: hug a pet, kick a human « Cheaper Than Therapy

  3. Pingback: [crickets] « Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

