hug a pet, kick a human

Sigh.

At our FIDO outreach today, I met the sweetest little four year old chow mix who was rescued as a puppy. She had been a “bait” dog for fighting, if you can imagine such an atrocity.

Miraculously, she survived, after a good Samaritan rescued her from the trash, where she had been left for dead. I won’t go into details, but I’ve never seen anything like it in my life. (Yeah, I’ve seen photos of neglected and abused animals, but to see one in the flesh, licking your hand, is quite different.) Rest assured she’s now in a good home. (Although it’s hard for me not to feel like the dog probably should have been put down instead of enduring all that pain and suffering. Euthanasia: not just for vegetables.)

So…what do we do at FIDO? Friends of Indy Dogs Outside is an all-volunteer group that focuses on helping dog owners improve the quality of life for their outside dogs. Our primary goal is to get dogs off chains and help dog owners find alternatives to chaining as a method of containment, but we also hook people up with free spay/neuters, educate them about city ordinances, and provide resources for low-cost supplies, veterinary care and vaccinations.

In the case of today’s rescued dog friend, there wasn’t much we could do that her kind, new owner hadn’t already done, aside from helping out with ongoing vet care.

Many other dogs aren’t so lucky…but you can help! Make a donation and give us lots and lots of money! Every dollar helps a doggy friend. Also give us a call if you’re in Indy and you want to volunteer — it’s not all doom and gloom, I promise. We need plenty of people to help out with fundraising, outreach and food pantry services.

Sorry if I sound like a PSA, but it’s something I feel strongly about, and I’m having a hard time not thinking about it right now. I hate people. Dogs, I get; humans, not so much.

But onto happier things…I ran a leisurely 4 miles with Miss Katiepants this morning. It was another crazy humid day in Indy: 64° with 90% humidity. We were sweating so much when we finished we looked like we’d just gotten out of a swimming pool.

Six days ’til half marathon mania, people. SIX DAYS. Yes, I look forward to the race. But Indy’s 500 Festival Mini Marathon is the largest half-marathon in the U.S., and the fifth largest running event in America (cuts off at 35,000). So it’s kind of a big deal. It’s almost more about the spectacle of it all rather than going for a PR. Mind you, I’m still going for a PR, but I assure you I’m also going to have a good time and then brag about it at the after-party later on…

When I got home from volunteering I whipped up some pesto salmon and quinoa — in my famished state, I complete forgot to take pictures. That salmon got annihilated.

Chased it with a Mojo:

6.8% ABV, 69 IBU. See the chunks floating around in this sucker?? Woweeee. Kinda makes me want to sift it through a strainer, dry it out and snort it. (Kidding, sort of.)

I dare say it’s as good (no, okay, almost) as it’s DIPA big brother, Mojo Risin’, which I had the pleasure of sampling on draft at Gravity Head this past Spring. It’s one of the most perfectly balanced beers I’ve ever had. Maybe even top 10 material.

On the agenda for Sunday: hubby and I are heading downtown to Fogo de Chao for some intense meat grindage (go ahead and say it.)

Until then…tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya! Tomorrow…

6 thoughts on “hug a pet, kick a human

  1. Aww I almost teared up thinking about that doggy, I would love to volunteer at a shelter or something but I know I would end up bringing every animal home, and then I’d be that crazy animal lady.

  2. Pingback: Pet dogs offer clues on human aging | Dog Obedience Training

  3. YESSSSSSS… Fogo is the best. I’m so glad you went. Did you love it? I always just keep card green until i puke, then turn it over and attend the salad bar “its a bit easier on the tummy”.

  4. Pingback: [crickets] « Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

