imperial cry baby

Yes, yes, I’m okay now.

I feel a bit silly because my whiny crying blog post got record page views today. Why couldn’t it have been some epic blog post about running or beer? No – my record breaking post has to be a seven-word blog about me being a crybaby.

Well…live and learn, no?

Things are fine, for now. No news is good news.

Today I came home and did four miles, give or take, and then poured one of these:

Imperial Hatter IPA (8.75% ABV, 95 IBU’). Jury’s still out, but first impression: not as strong and fragrant as I’d hoped it would be.

The run though, was better than I’d hoped. I wasn’t feelin’ it at first, as usual. But then I was so busy griping about it to myself that it almost didn’t occur to me that I actually felt pretty okay. So I shut up (er, the voice in my head shut up) and, in Forrest Gump fashion, I just ran.

This week, I am trying to quell the anxiety I always get before a long race. I had a nice ego run on Saturday that made me feel good about myself, but in all likelihood the bunions will start to kill around 10 and I’ll end up running about what I always do: 2 and a halfish hours.

It’s fine.

I like to run, and I’m glad I am still able to do it. But I’ve just about given up on getting any faster than I am now. I have run five half marathons and some of them felt good, some felt very very bad, but I always finish about the same.

What I’d like to do is to finish in 2:24 but feel better than I ever have before. It doesn’t look like my speed will be improving any time soon, so I’m going to take my 10(ish) minute mile and just embrace it. I’d rather feel good than run fast (said the slow runner! HAH.)

Cheers.

9 thoughts on “imperial cry baby

  1. My god does that beer look tasty. Your beer photos with the lovely river in the background always make me very thirsty. 🙂

    Glad your day has improved somewhat!!

  2. That beer looks pretty good. I had their regular Mad Hatter sent to me by a friend in SC a few months ago, and I thought it was terrible. Sounds like big brother might be better.

    Half marathon, huh? I guess that only makes you half crazy. Anyway, good luck with that. I hope you do 2:14 (without taking a shortcut)!

    Talk to you later.

  3. Ah, I’m with you! I do wish I could run FAST on long distances, – especially my upcoming marathon – but I’ll be happy if I well just finish it! Doesn’t help that my boyfriend is a soccer player and running on the treadmill at 10mph is like me going at a comfortable pace… oh well 🙂 Good luck with your feet! P-S: I’m glad to be back!

  4. Hey, if I ever run more than a mile at a time, it’ll be a first. But I will say that hanging around your blog has shamed me inspired me to recommit to my exercise efforts. And now I’ve gotten the all-clear from the doc to start lifting again, so woohoo for that!

  5. Is it tearing you apart? Do you understand life?

    DO YOU?

    Though one thing: remember that if you run faster, you can get back to drinking faster.

    I’d say this works for me, but that would be a lie.

Leave a Reply

