disgustipated

So.

We watched the barfumentary Food Inc. last night and it is safe to say I am never eating meat again.

Just kidding.

You’re actually not allowed to say that, by the way. Meat companies will kill you in your sleep.

No. I do I love meat. I love a big fat dripping red juicy steak on a bed of bacon with a side of Cornish hen. For reals. But I AM going to be more cautious about the meat I buy.

If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I encourage you to do it. Yeah, it’s disgusting and made me want to cry a few times because of the way factory farm animals are treated (not to mention how I felt when I learned that the poo runoff from the farms themselves is what made everybody’s spinach all e coli-y last year!); but it will change the way you look at food.

Now, I’m not one to jump into a panic every time I see a documentary, but this was just too powerful to ignore.

Mostly?

The animal by-products being sprayed down with ammonia to “wash” off the excrement before being used as filler for ground beef.

The genetically-altered chickens who can barely stand because their bodies develop faster than their bones, and who never see the light of day.

The fist-sized hole (appropriately called a “fistula”) directly into a cow’s stomach, used to “study” different foods during the process of digestion. (I did some searching on the nets about these things and all sorts of people say it’s really cool and it’s okay because it’s for scientific purposes, but guess what? If you just fed cows grass like you’re supposed to, you wouldn’t need to do experiments on their stomachs, now would you?)

Yeah.

What is even more revolting is that Upton Sinclair basically wrote the same type of exposé at the turn of the last century, and it seems we’ve just come full circle and then some.

Luckily, I don’t think anything in our kitchen came from a factory farm. I ♥ you Trader Joes!

Last night we had spaghetti with vodka sauce and grass-fed, anti-hormone anti-antibiotic happy, free-range turkey meatballs. (Phew!)

Coincidentally, over the weekend my aunt was talking about the latest delivery from her local CSA in Dallas, and well, it just sounded like a good idea. I can’t believe I’m not doing it already.

So I just signed onto our local co-op this morning and I’m hopeful that within the month we’ll have yummy fresh local farm food delivered right to our doorstep.

Hooray!

On the foot front: feeling much better today! I can still feel some tenderness, and I know if I were walking around more, it would probably be hurting. I’m thankful for the first time in my life that I have a job that pretty much keeps me anchored to my desk. If I worked as a lumberjack or Clinique counter girl, I’d be screwed.

Got into see a podiatrist early next week. I think I’ll hold off on running at least until then, when he will hopefully slap me in the face, tell me exactly what I’m doing wrong and show me how to fix it.

Hope you’re all having a terrific day, and that you didn’t read this post while eating a McDonald’s hamburger. Hee hee.

(Blog title inspired by Tool, Disgustipated)

9 thoughts on “disgustipated

  1. I have only bought grass-fed, free range anything since watching that movie. And I’ve had to pay far more money that I’d like to for the free range chicken…but ugh, so worth it.

  2. “Food Inc.” is a fantastically disturbing documentary. It really made me stop and think about my food choices. I think I will take all those “organic, free-range, grass fed” labels more seriously.

  3. I saw that movie a few months ago too and it really makes you realized how messed up the meat is in this country. It’s disgusting!!!

  4. I, like you, don’t think I could ever give up juicy burgers or medium rare filets, but that movie also impacted me more than other documentaries. But since watching, I’ve tried to avoid certain brands as well as factory raised by-products. That movie is one you will think about for a long time.

  5. Pingback: Cheaper Than Therapy

  6. I too have watched food inc and I found it moving and I have started making the changes the site recomends, its not about giving up meat; I will not give up meat as it is apart of us. We are omnivores, but I now buy from the farmer, or a butcher that buys from local farmers. Free range meat, not corn fed. I also now eat less meat. The message was not to give up meat but give more thought into where it comes from.

Leave a Reply

