sweets, joy and joyness

Good morning my magical liopleurodons!

I got an email from my bank today that actually contained the following statement:

Beginning August 15, 2010 your everyday debit card purchases will not be approved if you don’t have sufficient available funds and you don’t have Chase Debit Card Overdraft Coverage.

You mean all this time I could have been making purchases without having money?? In my Joe Swanson voice: DAMN IT.

Moving on…its a beautiful day in the heartland; unfortunately I have to be at work! Bleh.

We were going to leave for MO tonight but we’re decided just to get up and leave at the buttcrack on Saturday. Which means…wait for it…hubby’s off work tonight and we don’t have anything to do but PARTY.

I think we’re going to TRY to find somewhere close to home where we can have a nice dinner/booze it up a little before we go to bed reasonably early.

I get to sleep in the car tomorrow but poor babe has to drive; I do not drive on road trips. (And before you start accusing me of being an a-hole, trust me, I am a BAD DRIVER and the husband would not be able to relax with me behind wheel.)

I opened a new bottle of wine a few days ago and I’ve been slugging on it all week. La Finca Cab 2009. (And there in the background, my currently useless running shoes.)

The wine is from Argentina and it is not hard to drink at all. $4.99. Trader Joes. So, not hard to buy either.

Wednesday night I made my version of “Cuban” sandwiches. I call them that, but there’s really nothing Cuban about them. Tempeh, goat cheese, pickles and hot sauce on a fantastic honey sunflower seed bread. I grilled the tempeh in my chili garlic sauce (same brand as the sriracha) so it was extra spicy.

Then last night we messed up lasagna. Let me repeat that: we messed up. Lasagna.

Yeah, I know. I think it was one of those cases of too many cooks in the kitchen.

It still tasted good, we just screwed up the layers, the size of the cooking dish and then we didn’t have any foil so we had to cover it with a baking pan.

But this is what marriage is all about people: screwing up dinner -together- and then spending the rest of the evening trying to figure out 1) who is to blame and 2) who shouldn’t have to do the dishes as a result.

Just kidding — we laughed and ate it anyway. Then more chocolate.

Life is good.

Have a great long weekend — Grandma and Paw Paw definitely don’t have a computer so I won’t be blogging. I’m sure you’ll find some way to fill the void.

Peace!

12 thoughts on “sweets, joy and joyness

  1. liopleurodons??? Is that a real word? If not it should be…am too lazy to look it up.
    I am so glad I am not the only one who has messed up Lasagne…I feel so much better!!!
    Have a great trip.

  2. Cute shades. I’m always teh driver on road trips, I cannot relax with anyone behind the wheel of my car but me. Probs because I still have another 4 years of payments to make on it.

  3. Yeah, they’ll let you charge to your debit card when you’re out of money. Don’t ask me how I know. I would call that note an improvement.

    I always drive. Even if my wife’s driving didn’t occasionally scare me (only occasionally), she can’t stay awake on long trips. 20 minutes from home and ZZZZzzzzZZZZZzzzzZZZZZ.

    ‘sok, I actually like long drives. Sometimes I think I should hang up this whole university gig, take up my grandfather’s CB radio, and keep on truckin’.

    BTW, Axl Rose wants his glasses back. And you know what a prima donna bitch he is. 😀

  4. Hee, I love your attitude, Marie. Love tat you guys just laughed and ate it. I think even if you mess up lasagna, it will taste good. How can you go wrong with pasta, tomato sauce, and cheese?

Leave a Reply

