iko iko

OOOOOOOOOOH. What a day.

Started out with a session of Jillian, got an oil change and then spent four hours washing dogs in the sun at a doggy fundraising event. Total dogs washed: 36. We washed everything from puggles to greyhounds to pits and even two darling twin basset hounds, Bowser and Henry.

I wish I had snapped a few cute doggy pictures, but I was knee deep in dog hair and soap suds. You understand. Instead you get to look at this stunning photograph of my feet.

The sock tan. Soooo sexy.

I never realized my feet are so…veiny. WTF? It’s just a shame I don’t take intravenous drugs…

Thank goodness this was waiting for me when I got home:

And, because I’m classy, some TP in the background.

Abita. Not only a new beer for me, buy a whole brewery I didn’t even know about; “nestled in the piney woods 30 miles north of New Orleans,” according to their website.

Jockamo is Abita’s IPA, “named for the tribes of dancing, singing, chanting ‘Mardi Gras Indians’ who have marched in New Orleans for over 250 years to the tune of ‘Iko! Iko! Jockamo fe na ne,'” which, until now I just thought was a nonsensical lyric by the Grateful Dead.

It’s pretty much your typical IPA, and I’m not saying that like it’s a bad thing. This is a very nice, enjoyable IPA. Citrusy and hoppy; some people noticed caramel and apricot, which is accurate. Somebody else said hints of mint/eucalyptus, which I cannot vouch for, as I don’t think I know what eucalyptus tastes like (and I’m willing to bed that dude doesn’t either).

At 6.5% ABV and only 48 IBUs, I would have welcomed a tad bit more hops. But I’m a glutton for hops.

I’m feeling ridiculously lazy tonight and at some point we need to figure out what’s going to happen for dinner…

Tomorrow: run? Not sure. Hubby’s going with a buddy to see Skynard and 38 Special. I will not be accompanying them; I have to work Monday and I’m just too old to function on 4 hours of sleep, especially now, at a job that actually requires me to be functional (heh).

Peace!

4 thoughts on “iko iko

  1. Knee deep in dog hair? That’s what it’s like every time I walk through my living room.

    I swear, just running over the recliner where she hangs out most of the day fills up my vacuum cleaner.

  2. Grateful Dead + GD Themed Beer = Happy Deadhead

    Thanks for this! I’ll definitely check out LST and Jockamo. Maybe I’ll make a thing of it and post it on the blog (with credit to you of course!).

    Are you familiar with Magic Hat? Of course you are. It was all they had on tap at the Furthur show which I thought was random. I have a hard time finding it sometimes.

    Hope you’re well!

    • ha! that is random! And, not that I would drink it, but you would think they’d at least have Bud Lite or something too for the non-beer geeks. Lucky you got to see them in concert!

Leave a Reply

