wakey wakey

Morning friends,

I am slowly getting acquainted with Monday — forgive me if I am less than perky this morning. (Actually, I’m never perky, so you’re probably used to it by now.)

Weekend recap:

I did Level 2 of the Shred Saturday morning and that was intense. I thought since I had pretty much mastered Level 1, Jillian couldn’t bring too much more of the crazy…of course I was wrong.

Do you like plank moves? Then you’ll love Level 2. Do you hate your knees? The Shred will make them hate you.

I’ve heard a few people say they can’t do the Shred because it’s so hard on their knees, and I definitely saw a little of that this time. I have problems doing the lunge-type stuff so I just don’t go down as far, but in level 2 there’s that step/kneel/switch/step/kneel thing (forget what its called) and that was killer. I might have to skip that part next time.

Concert? WAS KILLER! The Drive By Truckers were fantastic, and Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers put on an even better show than I expected. Those dudes still rocks after all these years.

Some artists just get to put out albums for the simple fact that they have a famous name and people will buy their stuff even if it is swill (I’m talking to you, McCartney), but Petty’s new album Mojo kicks ass in its own right.

Here’s a couple nice blurry photos. We took a few in the parking lot too, but you don’t get to see those because I looked fat.

We got a little hotel room about five minutes from the venue, which turned out to be the smartest thing we’ve ever done. The venue is about an hour from our house, but when you factor in the after-show traffic, it could take all night. So instead of trying to hurry out of there to beat the crowds, we just took our time walking to the car and then sat for another hour or so and chatted with some people (I drank another beer) until the lot cleared out. Then we cruised over to the hotel and passed out. I highly recommend it.

Dinner last night was a summer noodle salad.

This is so easy. I grilled some tempeh in grapeseed oil, then added noodles, snap peas, water chestnuts, tomatoes, green onions, cucumber, mushrooms and sesame seeds. The dressing is toasted sesame oil, soy sauce, lime juice and rice wine vinegar. Got the recipe from Runner’s World several years ago and it’s always a hit.

And I (finally!) made Kelly’s famous sweet potato fries.

They may not LOOK as good as hers, but they tasted awesome…

I start my “actual” marathon training next week and I’m a little apprehensive. I don’t belong to a gym right now, so I’ll be doing all my runs outside. If the weather doesn’t begin to cooperate soon, I don’t see it going well.

I feel better knowing I’ve done a couple of semi-successful four mile runs, but I felt the old familiar twinge in my heel yesterday, and I realized I haven’t been as vigilant lately as I probably should be with the massage/icing. I kind of forgot about it for a while after the pain went away. I think this is my foot’s way of telling me to wake up.

5 thoughts on “wakey wakey

  1. I think they look delicious! Also, I’m so jealous you say Tom Petty. I went two years ago when they toured and loved it. I can’t go when they’re in Philly this year and I’m so sad about it!

  2. Ahhhh. I had my eye on tickets for that concert the last time they came through town, but then I cheaped out. Sounds terrific. Sweet potato fries are de freaking licious.

Leave a Reply

