Splat.

That’s the sound of me collapsing in a soggy pile on the floor after a ridiculously slow run this morning in debilitating heat.

I was actually able to wring out my sports bra when I was done with it.

Cat woke me up around 5:15. Stayed in bed until 6:00. Stumbled out the door around 6:30 — it was 78°, 82% humidity. So, pretty nice. Heh.

I did about 5.25 in 59 minutes, so an 11:15ish pace. Not too shabby, considering.

I’m starting to make peace with my slowness. It showed up uninvited and totally made a mess of things, but if it’s here to stay, we might as well try to find a way to coexist.

But I am not doing slowness’s dishes.

Good news is I think I’ve solved my not-being-able-to-eat-before-running problem.

TJs cookie with peanut butter chips, peanuts, and peanut butter. Small, compact, filled with protein and everything that is good and pure. One cookies = 60 calories. Perfect.

So that makes 17 miles for the week. I think that shows progress in spite of the slowness. I don’t know that I’m going to attempt any additional mileage next week; 17 feels safe.

We had the craziest hot weather last night– I think it went on record. That there is lightning from the heat:

I guess that’s not uncommon here, but I was amazed.

We made the most inappropriate dinner — shrimp fiesta soup in the dead of summer. But it’s what the hubs was craving and we had some mixed hot peppers from the jardin, so I said what the hell.

It’s the easiest thing in the world –

In a stock pot, saute:

  • onion
  • garlic
  • some diced hot peppers if you like-a the spice

Add this stuff:

  • chicken stock
  • can of Rotel tomatoes (I’m partial to the green chile)
  • 1/3 cup of salsa
  • can of corn (drained)
  • couple pounds of cooked shrimp, peeled, no tails

Simmer (add shrimp about 10 mins before serving).

Garnish:

  • diced avocado
  • chopped cilantro
  • crushed tortilla chips
  • sliced lime
  • sliced green onion
  • shredded cheddar cheese

Do NOT skimp on the garnish. It’s all very necessary. Same with the wine.

Next order of business: got our co-op delivery last night.

Speaks for itself (I see a giant kale smoothie in my future).

Some friends are having a little summer get-together tonight and I have some fun beers to bring along:

Okay, obviously I’m not going drink ALL of those. I plan to share. Plus, dude who’s house we’re going to is a big beer geek too, so I know he’ll be well-stocked.

Be careful today — in fact, just stay the hell indoors. Safer that way.

5 thoughts on “Splat.

  1. Slowness will be packing his bags by the time fall rolls around and the temperature drops. It will be like magic. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself every time I come through mile markers on these stifling summer runs and look down at my watch, cursing and perplexed. “Temps drop, times drop.” Right? Right. Good. Awesome pre-run snack.

  2. I ran…well kind of…this afternoon. 95 degrees with 85% humidity…it was a 111+ heat index. I went on a four mile loop and walked the last 1.5 miles. It was scary kind of hot. That was stupid. I made sure there is beer in the freezer. I am an amateur in the beer department. I have some Sam Adams (Summer Ale) and Warsteiner in my fridge.

  3. I’m moving so slow I didn’t even make it off my sofa. With that hated word humidex it feels like 40C (104) I can not muster the will to move quickly. Or at all.

    • I know right. Maybe I don’t have experience with this kind of heat…but just you wait…after the apocalypse, everywhere will look like NM…and then you’ll be on MY turf, sucka!

Leave a Reply

