try walking in my bunions

Yo –

Ran about 3.25 in 35 minutes this morning and felt better than I have in a long time. I think it had little to do with me and everything to do with the weather– low 70s and only 70% humidity. GOOD TIMES.

Only downside to the morning runs (aside from the obvious) is that I’m a little wobbly on my hips and butt after I get to work. I stretch, then I sit at my desk and promptly stiffen up. Guess if that’s the worst thing I have to complain about, I’m doing pretty good.

I gripe and moan about stuff sometimes (okay a lot), but my gripes are mainly “first world” problems. Like, how am I going to find a place to run 14 miles while I’m on vacation in Germany? What if they stop selling my favorite pair of running shoes? What if I have to have surgery to fix my bunions? We should all be so lucky. Okay, really I just want all of you to know what it feels like to have bunions. It’s nothing personal…

So we got this gigantic melon in our co-op delivery last week and we were having some trouble finding ways to utilize it before it went bad on us. Most of the stuff arrives perfectly fresh and ripe, which is great, but we don’t have a lot of time to eat it all, especially the fruit. At which point I end up throwing everything into a big salad, vat of stew, or I wok up enough stir-fry to feed the entire People’s Liberation Army.

We cut the cranium off the melon and scarfed melon balls while I dumped the rest of it into an ubersalad with strawberries, blueberries, almonds, goat cheese, romaine, kale and spinach. I made a lemon vinaigrette I found online (I’d link it but they’re pretty much all the same: lemon, extra virgin, garlic/shallot, thyme, S&P, dijon, you get the idea.)

Since I already got the run spanked, I am free to do with my evening as I please…I’m thinking of taking a belt sander to my bunions.

10 thoughts on “try walking in my bunions

  1. Just out of curiosity, when you first started developing bunions what did it feel like? Because I’m having all sorts of pain in my left big toe and I don’t know what it is.

    • It’s been so long…it’s hard to say, but I think the bones were already growing out before they started bothering me. It would hurt on the outside of your foot, just below the big toe. If it hurts especially after wearing heels or narrow shoes, that could be a sign.

  2. I’ve seen some gnarly bunions. Like, bunions the size of medium acorns, just strapped to the sides of people’s feet. Makes wearing those Manolos a little difficult. I love cantaloupe but do not buy it because I am too lazy to cut it up.

  3. No true bunions here, but I have those “pump bumps” on my heels that chew actual holes in the backs of all my running shoes. Nasty. I don’t even wear pumps. That’s a fine looking salad.

  4. HA! Pump bumps! I’ve never heard that before, I effing LOVE it. These feet were NOT made for running. Somehow I still love it though; I’m a masochist I guess.

Leave a Reply

