ARRRRRR

Dreadnaught on draft last night at Patrick’s! Weeee!

I also had the pleasure of explaining to the man next to me (who was drinking Bud Lite) what a Dreadnaught is. I was very nice about it and not at all condescending.

I didn’t take a picture because I was too busy guzzling the hoppy goodness…I also didn’t take a picture of the best stuffed jalapenos I’ve ever had in my life. And I don’t take stuffed jalapenos lightly.

It feels like I haven’t worked out in ages, even though I ran yesterday morning. I did not make the same mistake today that I made last week when I just decided to go running because I thought I had nothing better to do at 5:30 a.m.

Today I just forced myself to stay in bed until 6:30. I know, it was excruciating. Especially with the cat giving me wet willies for an hour until I fed her.

Today I’m feeling all Trouble Zone-y (probably the Dreadnaught talking). An extra long torture session with Jillian sounds like just the right thing.

I feel kind of dorky going on and on about her stupid workout DVD all the time. I hate liking things that are popular. It’s just a problem I have. It’s why I still refuse to read Twilight, watch Glee, or listen to the Beatles. There’s this t-shirt you can buy at the Onion that says Your Favorite Band Sucks.

That’s pretty much how I feel about everything.

Anyway…Jillian. It’s a love/hate with us. She has helped me find the muscles underneath the fat and for that I am grateful. She takes me through a series of floor exercises and body weight training circuits that leave me sweating and cursing and aching. I have found something I like to do that actually works and doesn’t hurt me (sorry running, you know you’re still my first love.) And, I don’t have to be around people when I do it (except for my husband, who sits on the couch and makes fun of me while I do plank rows and bicycle crunches). It’s a win/win/win/win/win.

But I still sort of hate her.

I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I hate the fact that she’s hawking diet pills now. I cam across a forum today (the website is ironically called EmpowerHer), and all these women had discussed whether Jillian’s diet pills actually work.

Another thing: they call the diet pills “supplements” to make it sound like you’re just taking vitamins and fish oil instead of what you’re really taking, which is a glorified appetite suppressant.

A 14-year old girl who described herself as a little chubby, with love handles, was wondering if the diet pills were right for her. Seriously. It breaks my heart. Everyone is looking for an easy way out and no one is willing to use their brain, WORK HARD and eat sensibly. If anything, there should be a pill you can take that makes you realize diet pills are a crock of shit.

I’ve lost 8 lbs since I started running again and doing the yoga and body weight training and doing a better job of watching what I eat. But I DON’T take pills and I DON’T DIET.

Granted, I’ve never been that overweight so I don’t want to say I understand what some people are going through — which is another thing Jillian sort of lies about: she says she used to be really overweight but I read somewhere that she was like, 50 lbs overweight for a couple years during high school and lost all the weight before she turned 18. (But that could be lies too — don’t believe anything you read!)

It takes time to build momentum and start heading in the right direction. People get discouraged when they don’t see rapid results after a week or two, but that’s not what life is all about. It’s like expecting to run a marathon after your first three mile jog.

Oops.

You didn’t think you were going to get a lecture from me this morning, did you? Well, tough. I don’t think about what I’m going to write before I sit down.

I’m done being all health bloggy now. Tomorrow it’s back to running and beer, I promise.

I do hope you’re all having a fantastic day and thinking about me all the time.

Kisses!

“There is nothing to writing, you just sit in front of a typewriter and bleed.” – Ernest Hemingway

7 thoughts on “ARRRRRR

  1. MMM…Dreadnaught. Is that still on? Maybe we should get together for a beer sometime after work?

    I completely agree about the diet pills and looking for an easy way out. I am about to embark on a ridiculous exercise journey myself. I’m not too excited about it, but I am looking forward to the results.

    I used to have a shirt from the Onion that said You are dumb.

    • The Dreadnaught may be about finished — but I think whatever they replace it with will be another double or imperial …he told me what it would be last night but I can’t remember! We should definitely have a beer after work — just say the word~ They also have the Sun King XX Rye IPA on tap right now.

      I also like the Onion coffee mug that says I Hate Whatever Day It Is.

  2. No More Trouble Zones is the only Jillian DVD target has had in stock for weeks. I almost broke down and bought it when i was really looking for yoga meltdown. Still might.

  3. At this point, it’s got to be at LEAST as popular to shun Twilight as it is to get sucked into the entire ridiculous vampire shitshow. You might be in the majority on that one! Rut roh.

    AMEN to the lecture. I nodded along vehemently.

  4. I hate liking the popular stuff, too. Makes me feel like a cliche. That’s why I never bought Uggs. Or popped the collar. Or maybe I’m just expressing my extreme dislike for too cool prepsters I put up with in the dorms? hmmm…

    Either way, I do feel like a nerd loving Jillian’s workouts. But they work. And I sort of like the tv personality she’s trying to become. She’s got a long way to go, but there’s potential. But I do not and cannot get behind her pills. Fail, Jillian. Fail…

Leave a Reply

