me: 1/trail: 0

Today’s stats:

Miles: 4ish?
Minutes: 43
Blisters: 1
Beers consumed: 1 each
Bugs swallowed: 1
Bliss: 100%

I had such a good run I was singing Ave Maria all the way home.

Actually I was singing So What by Metallica, but same thing, right?

And here’s the money shot: enjoying a refreshing hoppy beverage after the run. Yep, we come prepared.

Kate plays it cool; I of course am the eternal dork.

But…wow! I felt FABULOUS! All the bugs, tree branches, muddy creeks, death-defying leaps, turns and torturous inclines you’d think might wreck a run? They make me feel like I’m home.

And the Mission St. IPA and Upland Dragonfly?

They make me feel like I’m home, in bed, under a warm binkie.

I did eat one bug. It flew right into my mouth and hit the back of my throat and I coughed a little and then swallowed. No matter what they tell you, this is the real reason you inhale through the nose and exhale through the mouth.

Until we meet again…

9 thoughts on “me: 1/trail: 0

  1. Trail running is the way to go – it’s freaking gorgeous. You work a little harder, but hey – you run to get a hot ass anyway, right? I’ve never tailgated after a run, but that sounds delightful.

    • it was our first post-run tailgating expedition — and then we wondered why we had never done it before. Instant gratification, and you don’t have to disturb anyone with your offensive body odor…

Leave a Reply

