cheesy-ish things

So.

We watched the cutest movie last night — Once? A MUSICAL. I know, I know. SO not my style. With the exception of Team America: World Police and Everyone Says I Love You, I have never liked any musical.

But it was done in a way that was infinitely less cheesy than your typical musical. (If you’re thinking Glee/HS Musical, just get out. Right now.)

We thought the dude sounded a lot like Cat Stevens — achingly beautiful voice and perfect pitch.

Plus, it’s a foreign film. And we all know foreigners are more charming than Americans, amirite? Also, the actors wrote and performed all the songs, which I thought was pretty neat-o too. (Take that, Zellweiger!)

Anyway, adorable. Check it out next time you’re on your period.

UPDATE: Stupid embedding disabled: find it here.

I think I was supposed to do like, seven miles or something last night. Who cares anymore. I ran four and felt pretty freaking fantastic.

It’s been a while since I broke 39 minutes: September 30, I ran 4.87 at a 10:38 pace! (On September 28, I ran three miles at a 9:18 pace; August 31, I ran two miles at a 9:17 pace; but I haven’t been able to keep up that momentum for four miles.)

It’s been happening more and more lately that I think I’m just running along at my regular (slow) pace, and I look down at the Garmin to see I’m running a hell of a lot faster than I thought. It’s a good feeling. (Used to be, I’d look down and think, how the hell am I ONLY running at blah pace when it feels like I’m using every ounce of my energy?!)

I may have said this already, but I’m starting to feel like an actual runner, instead of somebody just trying to fake it.

I’m probably like a lot of people in that I ran cross country in high school, got injured and completely abandoned the sport until after college, when my bad habits started catching up with me and I wasn’t burning calories like a hummingbird any more.

From there it was on and off. I’d try to run a couple miles on the treadmill at the gym, but never really had any passion. It wasn’t until I moved to Indy and registered for my first half marathon in 2007 that I began running regularly and started logging some respectable mileage. Aside from the random injury, I haven’t stopped running since. And I don’t intend to stop until I’m dead.

When did you first know you were a runner?

14 thoughts on “cheesy-ish things

  1. That’s how I feel now when I look down at my Garmin, oh I’m moving much faster than I thought I was! It’s really a great feeling. Yeah college is really the only time that I took a break from running since the 4th grade when I started. It’s damn addicting.

  2. I have a hard time with thinking of myself as a runner even though I just ran my first half marathon a few weeks ago. It’s such a weird concept to get my head around!

  3. I LOVE Once. I watched it with my first-ever real boyfriend and then he gave me a CD with the soundtrack. Then he turned out to be a religious fanatic so I ran as far away as possible… and that’s the moment that I knew I was a runner…(?!?!)

    Anyway, yeah. Once is awesome.

  4. MUSICAL?!?!?! I don’t know you anymore.
    I knew I was a runner when I realized that I had to get out of the house and I wasn’t old enough to drive…like Forrest Gump…without the leg braces and ping pong skills, but double the IQ.

  5. Pingback: karma’s a bitch « Cheaper Than Therapy

  6. hey, i just found your blog and thought i’d say hello! i guess i started running 4-5 years ago now, and seriously, fell in love in about 30 seconds. there’s nothing like a runner’s high, ya know? 🙂

Leave a Reply

