I’m on Day 3

Yeah so here’s this week’s breakdown and prediction:

Day 1: itchy throat, congestion, headache, fatigue, halfhearted complaining
Day 2: Cough, congestion, headache, fatigue, wholehearted complaining
Day 3: Looser cough (also, “loser cough”), congestion, headache, fatigue, marginally less complaining due to sheer exhaustion, watery eyes
Day 4: A lot of aheming, runny nose, headache, watery eyes, just enough strength to complain about having no strength
Day 5: Less aheming, more nose-blowing, more complaining, but about something else (topic TBA)
Day 6: Marathon. And cursing.

Yeah.

This thing appears to be running it’s course but I’m going to hit up the express clinic on the way home today regardless. I don’t want this shiz turning into an upper respiratory infection or bronchitis. Congestion, I can deal with. Hacking cough, I cannot.

I am better. Complaining yes, but only because it’s something I do well. There’s a light at the end of the tunnel. I can feel the ick in my head and chest starting to break loose. I did go a little overboard on the vitamin C, though. (How do I know that? Trust me, you don’t wanna know.)

I decided to start planning my 2011 race season, because whenever possible I like to put the cart before the horse and schedule all this stuff out months in advance with no forethought as to what other plans or conflicts (or injuries) might arise in the meantime…

Here’s a few that are up for consideration.

Jan 1 – New Year’s Day 5k (Just kidding.)
February 13 – Mini Training Run 5K
March 6 – Mini Training Run 10K
March 13 – St. Patrick’s Shamrock 4 Mile
March 20 – Holliday Park Trail Run 5 Mile
April 3 – IU Half Marathon
April 10 – Mini-Training Run 15K
April 17 – Race For The Cure 5K
May 8 – 500 Festival Mini-Marathon

I was just over at Washington Ran Here and I was thinking about how much I love 10Ks and 15Ks and how I should really do more of them. They’re really the perfect distance for me– long enough to feel a sense of accomplishment, but not long enough to be all tedious.

Of course, having said that, I know there’s another full marathon here in June which might be good timing training-wise, but a marathon in June also sounds absolutely dreadful. Thoughts?

And — I looked up my bib number for Saturday: 1336, in case you want to stalk me.

Later jerks –

4 thoughts on “I’m on Day 3

  1. I’m still struggling through a cold too, one that seems to be making me lightheaded if I stand up to fast or bend over. Interesting really. I hope yours clears up enough by the weekend.

  2. 10K and 15K are my favorites, too! That I have raced so far, anyway. Glad to hear you’re feeling marginally better. Mehhh don’t worry about that June marathon until you’ve gotten through the racing + mental recovery process of this one. Afterward you’ll have a clearer idea of how to evaluate and decide.

    • oh hell no…I’m tossing it around but there’s no way I’ll PAY for another marathon until I live through this one. Plus, June here is unbearable.

Leave a Reply

