re: the day job

According to my site stats, my most popular posts have involved football, bunions and that dead baby from Trainspotting.

You people are weird (and yes, I do mean YOU PEOPLE in THAT WAY).

It kind of bugs me that when I bang out a particularly eloquent post about some new beer I tried and it’s not nearly as popular as the posts where I mention Pauly D or some other vague (and overrated) pop-culture phenomenon. But what are ya gonna do?

With that in mind, here’s something particularly not eloquent:

Right now, I think I would like to take a run.

Of course, I can’t right now. It’s lunch time and I’m at work.

I have run at the gym a handful of times during my lunch hour, and while it achieves the desired result, it also always just stresses me out.

I have to hurry over there, run, shower and wash my hair (I don’t know about you guys, but I can’t get out of washing my hair after running; I have some long ass hair and I sweat entirely too much) and I have to get dressed (which is annoying when you’re still damp and in a hurry) and head back to work. And maybe try to eat. (And then there’s the hassle of remembering to bring a towel, soap, etc.) Thus, I’ve given up on the lunch time workouts.

So I am forced by virtue of having a day job to wait until after work to go on my run. (Or get up at the butt crack and run before work, but we’ve already discussed how that often goes.) And I just don’t know how I’m going to feel at the end of the day.

Generally around the lunch hour, I begin to get antsy from sitting at my desk and banging away at ye olde keyboard all morning long, and I begin to stare longingly out the window at the street and sky beyond and daydream about running.

Sidenote: I don’t have a window to the outside world in my office; I have a window to the outside hallway. (And it doesn’t even have blinds on it, so when I want to change into my running clothes I have to go in the bathroom just like all the other plebeians.) But, if I roll my chair a few inches to the right and crane my neck, I can see over the reception desk out the front door, and there’s just a little patch of visible outside.

But at the end of the day, I’m usually just over it. Why go for a run when it’s so much easier to pour a drink and putz around the kitchen in my pajamas making dinner in no particular hurry?

So, yeah. I don’t know where I’m going with this but the main idea is that I’d like to run right now and I can’t. And while we’re liking things, I’d also like to not have a job.

Don’t worry, I’ll let you know what happens.

15 thoughts on “re: the day job

  1. There’s times when I think I’d like to work out during lunch, a few of the other girls do, but I feel like my workouts would get shorted and I wouldn’t like trying to squeeze the whole process into an hour.

  2. Lunch time runs don’t sound like they’re worth the effort at all. It gives me anxiety just to think about all the rushing + logisitics. Not to mention that afterward you’re stuck toting your sweaty clothes around in a plastic bag the rest of the day, or maybe that’s just me.

    But yeah. Jobs really seem to put a damper on running (and I only work about 55 hours a week, so I know I’ve got nothing to whine about compared to some).

    Anyway, I’ve researched this extensively and can only conclude that in order to run whenever I want, my options are either writer or housewife. Meh.

  3. Damn that was some eloquent poetry you wrote right there! For what it’s worth, I prefer the beer posts. Well, actually some others have been pretty funny too. I don’t know who some of your pop culture references are though. Hmmm.

    You know I reviewed that Four Loko shit a week ago and it’s already the most popular post every single day? Well, that one and the one which attracts all the pervs b/c I said something like “If I am expected to listen to Britney Spears or Paris Hilton, there better at least be a nipple slip or crotch shot”. That’s legit.

    BTW, I have wall-to-wall windows in my office and I never even turn on the lights b/c of that. But I still have to sit on my butt all day in front of a computer so it’s not that big a perk.

    • Yep. I also have to watch my title tags. I posted a picture of a bunny once and for a while I was getting a TON of visitors searching for cute baby bunnies. Easter was hell as you can probably imagine. I finally replaced the bunny with a picture of Satan just to teach them a lesson.

  4. For what it’s worth, I don’t have a window at all. Yeah, I can do whatever I want in my office without anyone seeing, but… I don’t have a window. Just linoleum. I used to have a several hour break in the middle of my day, in which case I’d run home, shower, and take the subway back to work. I found that it added too much time to my day. Like, I could sit at my desk and use those three hours productively, or I could take a 45 minute run home and barely make it back in time.

    • Yeah, I know what you mean. I totally skip over the cancer bits.

      KIDDING.

      But, we should take comfort in knowing we have our “real” readers, as opposed to those jerks who stumble across us while searching for naked pictures of Jwoww.

  5. Day jobs are a bane to the existence of happiness. And my sympathy goes out to you, like Tracy I have no windows. In fact, my entire office is devoid of windows. Solid cinder-block construction all around.

  6. I consistently have the urge to run when it’s least convenient. Like now.

    I wouldn’t do the lunch time workout. I’d be too anxious and watching the clock the whole time. And the hair thing- it’s a total issue. Which means I’d probably end up with only 20 minutes for a quality workout by the time you factor in getting dressed/undressed/shower/dressing again/looking presentable. Not happening…

  7. US people maybe comment more on bunions and dead babies, but some crazies (like me) love the beer posts. I frequently email them over to friends who are similar beer enthusiasts. 🙂 Talk about whatever.

    • Heh, yeah, I agonize over trying to come up with stuff that’s like, prolific and funny every single day and sometimes it just seems like I’m blogging my laundry list. But I’m always comfortable with a good beer review. Thanks for reading!

  8. I’ve found my urges to run are always strongest when I know that I can’t. Likewise, on beatiful, completely open you couldn’t pay me to pry my ass off the couch and away from college football. Grass is always greener…. ?

Leave a Reply

