an isolated beer tasting incident or: why I didn’t go running yesterday

I’m currently procrastinating going for a run in the hopes that temps might climb above 24° and hating all the jerks who are in Vegas for the RNR today. Oh, and you bitches best keep your hands off Bret Michaels. He’s mine.

We had every intention of making Saturday productive, but we entertained some guests Friday night and well, things just got out of hand…

It was like a Jerry Springer episode: Air Traffic Controllers and the Women Who Love Them. Good times.

Anyway.

When you come over to my house, you better like beer. Because I am more than willing to share, as long as we establish a few ground rules:

  • There will be no shotgunning.
  • There will be no drinking straight from the bottle.
  • And my beer cans most certainly do not turn blue to indicate they are cold enough to drink.

With that in mind, let’s get started.

Big Hoppy Monster Imperial Red Ale.

Another DBR-trade beer, another Terrapin (see my review of Terrapin’s Rye Pale here) and another clever turtle.

8.75% ABV, 75 IBU. Pours a rich, dark red. Thick piney, floral aroma. It was on the sweeter side, but not cloying. You probably wouldn’t want to have two of them.

(And, I just have to say, so far DBR is 6 for 6 on the beers he sent me from Florida. I’d totally come clean if there was some beer I just didn’t like, but he’s seriously nailed every single one, so far. I’ve still got one more DBR beer in the fridge, a barley wine that I’m going to try to hold onto for a little while.)

Next up, BrewDog/Mikkeller’s I Hardcore You. A 9.5% ABV imperial IPA.

I picked this one up in Chicago over Thanksgiving. I am usually hesistant to buy anything from BrewDog OR Mikkeller, because they’re all so damned expensive, if not downright overpriced.

(You’ll remember, the crazies over at BrewDog were the ones that came out with End of History, that $765-a-pop, 55% ABV calamity served from the corpses of rodents.)

But I was feeling saucey. And this beer didn’t let me down.

It’s a blend of BrewDog’s Hardcore IPA and Mikkeller’s I Beat You. Dry-hopped like, half a bajillion times. It is very good. But, you have more than one and it’s gonna be Blackout Town, population: you.

Next: Goose Island’s Demolition. A Belgian Golden Ale. More palatable to every day beer drinkers. Everybody really liked this one and I wished I’d had one more to pass around. (Although, judging by the quality of this photo, it’s probably good that I didn’t.)

Another Goose Island: 2009’s Christmas Ale.

It was okay, but a completely different flavor than the Belgian before it, so it took a little getting used to. It’s basically a brown ale with some Christmasy spices thrown in; clove, cinnamon, nutmeg. It was just fine, I probably won’t buy it again though.

Last, and I think we all should have just called it a day and skipped this beer: IndiaNA Pale Ale from Mishawaka Brewing. And, I guess this placed actually closed? Confirm?

This beer was a shocker, and not the good kind. It was bitter, abrasive and had little flavor or aroma to speak of. Nobody liked it.

(Yeah, I’m that jerk who takes pictures of the beer and not the party guests. Fail.)

Okay, I’m off to go running. It’s now 25°. SO GLAD I WAITED. See you later.

4 thoughts on “an isolated beer tasting incident or: why I didn’t go running yesterday

  1. Pingback: killer turtles « Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

