no resolutions

As you probably already have surmised from reading this blog, I am like the Mary Poppins of running and beer-drinking: practically perfect in every way. Therefore I am having trouble pinning down my new year’s resolutions.

I don’t smoke.
I don’t need want to lose weight.
I don’t need want to quit drinking.
I already ran a marathon (poorly).

What’s left to resolve?

We do need to get ULS11 plans underway. Maybe I should resolve to be more proactive? Stop being such a jerk?

Nah.

I’d love to give you some eloquent words on this last day of 2010. I see a lot of people recapping the year: my favorite moments involving me; my favorite posts I wrote, my favorite pictures of me…seems a little self-absorbed.

So instead, I’ll ask YOU: what was your favorite blog post you read (not wrote) in 2010? A cool new blog you discovered? Who inspired you? Best beer? Favorite race? Worst run of the entire year?

My favorite post was Sweaty Kid’s Reindeer post. If you haven’t read it, you need to. It’s a barrel and a half.

A new blog I discovered was Side Car Sally. He’s everything I would aspire to be if my mom didn’t read my blog. (Warning: this blog is not safe for anyone.)

I was inspired by Jenn Shelton. She can drink you under the table AND outrun you in a 50 miler.

My favorite beer? That’s a toughy. Probably the Alpha Klaus porter on draft at Three Floyds Brewpub in Munster.

Favorite race was the Run Like Hell 5k — the weather was great, it was a PR for me and I ran with some cool chicks who I love and and admire.

Worst race was the Circle the City 10k — my slowest 10k ever. BUT it was when I realized I was ridiculously out of shape, not taking care of myself and would never improve as a runner unless I made some changes. So in that regard, maybe it was a good race because it was a turning point.

And all that.

Tonight we’re ringing in the new year with a couple of friends at Indy’s oldest and best blues bar, the Slippery Noodle. We have reservations at a nearby hotel so nobody has to drive. I wish you all a wonderful night and all the best for 2011.

See you soon.

9 thoughts on “no resolutions

  1. Hey. I already mentioned Mary Poppins and New Year’s resolutions in my blog post today. Are you cheating? LOL.

    Anyway, it’s no surprise that you wouldn’t have any New Year’s resolutions, being perfect and all! Have a great night and drink a lot. I bought Yuengling Black and Tan for the party I’m going to. I figured it’s the best beer they can handle.

  2. Testify!

    I liked posting ugly pictures of myself on the Internet. That was fun.

    I liked a lot of Shelby’s MS Paint pictures, enjoyed Angry Runner’s race reports, and loved the Marie Claire article drama. I’m just being honest.

  3. Wow, thanks for the shout out! Favorite post I read was the “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving” post from hyperboleandahalf. A cool new blog I discovered was… your guyses blogs. (All y’alls blogs? Shooo. You know what I mean. Any sassy blog that sometimes talks about running and also makes fun of things.)

    Resolutions are for ambitious people and not for me. I’ve been enjoying your attitude toward the holidays; thank you for being a voice of reason amid the resolutiony drivel.

  4. So glad to hear another person who is not making resolutions due to their current status as perfect enuf!
    Actually, i am just lazy and haven’t made the effort to make any.
    As well as remembering favorite blogs posts…. tho your blog has made me laugh quite often (as well as those you’ve linked to).

    I guess all i can say is Happy New Year and here’s to running and beer!
    d:)

Leave a Reply

