winter running/drinking tips

Today the weather was perfect for running: 26° and windy, with four inches of snow on the ground.

No, really.

I ran about four miles after work and I’m glad to report that even on the snowy trails, my weird foot problem did not bother me at all while I was running…naturally, it started as soon as I got home.

But running in the snow does not have to be the nightmare you might imagine it to be. Provided you have some decent shoes (and even if you don’t, there are some cheap solutions), it can actually be quite fun.

And once your heart starts pumping and you’re all warmed up, you don’t even feel the cold. I swear. It’s exhilarating.

Here are some pointers to get you started.*

1. Be in the woods. It helps shelter you from the wind. Plus, snow is easier to run on when there’s dirt underneath. Concrete doesn’t hold heat as well so it tends to be more slick. If you don’t have woods where you are, I can’t help you.

2. Layer up, dummy. And I don’t mean wear 60 sweatshirts. Have a one or two nice, technical base layers under an insulated jacket. Booty shorts under your running tights help keep your butt warm. If you don’t have technical gear though, just wear 60 sweatshirts.


source

3. Don’t carry water, you nerd. There’s water all around you. Just brush off the deer pellets off and boom.

4. Cover your head. And you will probably want to use something more substantial than those cute little earmuffs you bought at Target. A wool hat maybe? Use your brain. Earmuffs are for androgynous Asian hipsters. Trust me, you can’t pull it off.


source

5. Chapstick. And moisturizer. Unless you enjoy looking like an old catcher’s mitt.

6. Reward yourself with a beer when you’re done. I’m currently enjoying a Three Floyds Alpha Klaus, a 6.0% ABV/38 IBU “big American Christmas Porter brewed with English chocolate malt, Mexican sugar and of course, tons of strange American hops.”

I’ve never actually seen this in a bottle before. I tried it for the first time when we went to the brewpub in Munster.

It’s really smokey; if you don’t like that in a beer, then I wouldn’t recommend this guy. That chocolatey sweetness rounds it out a bit, and although it’s not as smooth as I remember it being when I had fresh on draft at the brewpub, it’s still pretty damn good. A fine recovery beer after a winter trail run.

*By now, you should know better than to follow any of the advice I give on this blog. I’m either lucky, have no idea what I’m doing or I am totally out to get you.

17 thoughts on “winter running/drinking tips

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention winter running/drinking tips « Cheaper Than Therapy -- Topsy.com

  2. That trail is a gorgeous thing. God, miss snow runs!
    And you really could not be more right about running in the cold. It may sound unappealing. It may be uncomfortable for the first few minutes. But once you get a little fire going in your muscles, it’s perfectly comfortable.

  3. Aww I was hoping there’d be more winter drinking tips. Or that one of your running tips was to run with a flask to help keep your insides warm. Counter productive or super genius??? you decide.

    Also that picture of Joey is amazing.

    • yeah, I kinda dropped the ball on that one. A case of the title not matching the content. I have amazing ideas, I’m just too lazy to fully develop them!

  4. As long as the temperature isn’t too brutal (26 sounds great) and the wind isn’t crazy, I totally agree with you. Except for some silly throbbing pains, I had an awesome winter run the other day. I think I’ll steer clear of deer pellets all together though 🙂 The beer thing after sounds like a plan,

Leave a Reply

