a fantastic Sunday, ruined by Monday

First of all: GO BEARS! Looks like it’s gonna be a showdown at Soldier Field…

Sorry to all you Colts fans (no I’m not), but your adorable little climate-controlled dome? With your well-mannered patrons? All wearing identical Peyton Manning jerseys and clapping politely? Your artificial turf? Not football. No. Nope.

Give me a menagerie of freezing cold, drunk, screaming, belligerent fans and dead, frozen grass covered in snow. That’s football. (Yes, I will take any cheap opportunity to put down the Colts. Deal with it.)


source

Anypackersaregoingdownnextweek, yesterday before the game I ran eight miles and PRed!

Back in November (about three weeks after the marathon), I ran eight miles at my best pace ever and finished in 1:27; yesterday I did it in 1:22. In ice and snow. With temps in the teens. Yeah, not sure how that happened but I am elaaaaated. I did feel pretty gross and sluggish for the first few miles, but then things just kind of got all dreamy and I ended up having a great finish.

I’ve been doing a lot of fun running lately; five and six milers, not pushing too hard, just enjoying myself and kind of being in runner la-la land, but I think I’m ready to get serious again.

I’m signed up for a half marathon the first weekend in May, and I might also do one in April with my fams up in South Bend. I’ve never done 13.1 with anyone in my family, so I think that’d be pretty neat-o. Plus Aunt Mary rocks. Seriously.

Blah. It’s Monday. Luckily I am drinking a Florida Swamp Ape IPA and I promise I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow.

Kisses.

11 thoughts on “a fantastic Sunday, ruined by Monday

  1. Anyone who cheers on the Bears, drinks beer from a glass with a MLB logo on it, and runs fast in cold weather….I’m a fan. And have gotten soft since moving to Northern California from Detroit 10 years ago.

  2. Pingback: messin’ with swamp ape « Cheaper Than Therapy

  3. “Give me a menagerie of freezing cold, drunk, screaming, belligerent fans and dead, frozen grass covered in snow. That’s football. ” – come to a game in Philly. It’s your kind of sports town.

    Think I’m pulling for the bears….

Leave a Reply

