I took a picture of my oatmeal now pay me

For breakfast this morning, I had a bowl of oatmeal and Terrapin’s Wake ‘n’ Bake Coffee Oatmeal Stout. (ABV: 8.6%; IBUs: 50. For breakfast. Yep.)

When it comes to taking pictures of oatmeal, my motto (that I just came up with) is that I will only do it when said oatmeal is accompanied by a beer.

That is my promise to you.

Sometimes the way a beer looks and smells is completely different from the way it feels in your mouth. (Is that something she would say?)

Take that vanilla porter I had last week; it was a rich, dark brown in color and smelled overwhelmingly of vanilla, but the mouthfeel and consistency were that of watered-down soda. It did not walk the walk, so to speak.

But this beer (#5 of beer trade #2) fully lived up to its aroma and appearance. It’s rich with coffee and brown sugar, oatmeal, chocolate, and roasted malts.

Divine.

And now I am drunk.

Today, the Hawks take on their Stanley Cup rivals, the Flyers, and immediately after, the Bears take on the [expletive deleted] for the NFC title. So today’s pretty much going to be all ZOMGSPORTS.

Who are you rooting for? (And if it’s anything but Hawks/Bears, just get out.)

Good day, folks!

16 thoughts on “I took a picture of my oatmeal now pay me

  1. J-E-T-…kidding. My love affair with Rex Ryan was brief and is over. Might go and heckle at the bar, but Jets fans are kinda boring. No offense to the two interesting Jets fans out there.

    Oh, wait. There was an oatmeal picture. “ZOMG that looks a.maz.ing.” Better?

  2. Haha. Nicely done with the food pairing. Glad you enjoyed that one. Delicious!

    I didn’t plan my day very well so though I planned on watching the end of the Flyers game, I got home in time to see figure skating or some crap on NBC. But I did like the final outcome. As for the Bears, I’m not really into it anymore. Football season is dead to me this year!

  3. That beer looks tasty! Have you tried Keegan Ales Mother’s Milk Stout? It’s got a lower ABV but man, you have one and you get sucked into like 10. Good stuffs!

  4. Pingback: [crickets] « Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

