like a T-1000

You know the part in T2 when the liquid nitrogen truck explodes and the T-1000 freezes and starts to fall apart? His legs buckle and then break and he starts to crumble and then Ahnold blasts him and he shatters on the pavement?


source

Well, that’s what I felt like running in the slush and snow last night: like a T-1000 freezing in liquid nitrogen. (Like a T-1000, like a T-1000…)

The snow/ice had melted, turned to slush and then refrozen, creating this messy hybrid with a hard crème brûlée-ish layer on top that your foot would punch through as soon as it struck.

A…NNOYING.

I called it quitsies on the trails after about 3.25, but did another 1.5 on the main roads just because I desperately needed to feel solid pavement beneath me.

I appreciate this type of workout strictly in terms of effort; I got my heart rate up, I sweat, burned a lot of angry calories and today I have a nice achy feeling in my legs and butt.

Regardless of how inspired you feel when you’re done, there’s just something to be said for going out and expending a lot of energy after being cooped up in an office all day long.

But I want to work on speed this year too. I had a few PRs there at the end of 2010, and damn, they just felt good. It’s one thing to feel like you’ve done something difficult; quite another to actually see a result, in print, that you can point to and go, “I did that better than I’ve ever done it before!”

So, tomorrow? It’s on.

8 thoughts on “like a T-1000

  1. Frozen slush is quite honestly the worst thing I’ve ever run on. And it’s depressing as fuck to get out there and feel like for every step forward you are taking 50 billion back.

    BUT YES. DOING SOMETHING IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN NOT DOING ANYTHING. You either ran or you didn’t, yes?

    GO CHOKE A BITCH TONIGHT.

Leave a Reply

