slow news day

As you might know, yesterday was March 1. As I was trolling the internet and pretending to work, I noticed a lot of you people took that opportunity to discuss your monthly goals and training and such, and I thought, “hey, that’s neat.”

I myself do not have any goals; those require thought, ambition, planning, and something the old-timers like to call “wherewithal.”

But, I did pay way too much for a well-known GPS device that has subsequently allowed me to look at all sorts of fancy reports on teh interwebz. I’ve never used the feature until now, but as they say in the biz, it’s a slow news day, so fancy reporting with no substance is what you get.

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

January

  • I ran nine times. (In my Ed Rooney voice: “Niiine tiiiimes.”)
  • I ran a whopping total of 47.12 miles.
  • I took a week off due to injury.
  • I never did more than 16 miles in any given week.
  • My longest run was 8.01 miles.
  • My shortest run was 3.43 miles.
  • I felt pretty pathetic.

February

  • I ran 13 times.
  • I ran a total of 64.7 miles.
  • My highest mileage week was 21.24 miles.
  • Longest run: again, 8.01 miles.
  • Shortest: 3.03.
  • I felt more accomplishy than I did in January.

My hopes and dreams for March? To keep doin’ what I’m doin’. And not get hurt.

Up to speed? Great.

Yesterday was easy Tuesday. I ran 4.5 miles at what I would like to be my half-marathon pace but probably won’t be by about 20 seconds.

Fine. I set out to do an easy only-gonna-run-as-far-as-I-feel-like run and did just that. Nothing hurt afterward and this pleases me.

I don’t know what always happens to me around miles 4-5. It doesn’t matter if I’m running six miles or 20; four is always the hardest.

Last night’s beer was a Gumball Head 12 ouncer.

It’s a great mid-week, post-run beer; light enough for a Tuesday, with enough flavor to make you wish it was Friday (or Thursday, if we’re being honest). I wrote about it once before, here.

What’s your hardest mile? What are your hopes and dreams for March?

9 thoughts on “slow news day

  1. Accomplishy. Yeah. I’m with you on the not get hurt. For both you and me. F everyone else.

    As for difficult miles, I’m not sure. It varies, but I think mile 2 and the what the hell did I get myself into feeling. Which also strikes at the turn around since I tend to run out and back. It’s the “oh F I still have to run exactly what I ran.”

    • Oh, I know. I do a LOT of out-and-backs, mostly because it forces me to finish rather than duck out early. But the turn-around also makes me want to cry a lot.

  2. My first mile (sometimes two) always suck. They’re slow. Really, really slow and I always think of turning around and going back.

    Goals: I’m running my first 5k in a looonnnggg time at the end of the month.

  3. Mile 2 is always hard for me. It takes a while for me to find my groove.

    My hope and dreams for March are that I get my ass to Planned Parenthood for birth control pills before it gets shut down by the government. I don’t want no baby.

Leave a Reply

