thpeedy thursday

I am still laughing at my blog post title…I better finish this quickly.

Tonight for I did (typo but it stays) a very traditional type of tempo run; mile warm-up, four miles at “tempo pace” (whatever that means; faster, I think) and a mile cool-down.

This was the first time I’ve ever succeeded at maintaining the elusive “tempo pace” throughout the entire tempo portion of the run. I’ve tried to do it before, but normally I putter out around 3.5 and end up calling it something else that makes it sound like less of a failure; “practice tempo,” or “6160 x 1 with 4400 cool-down.”

Stephen Colbert: “If at first you don’t succeed, redefine what you did as success.”

I think it’s kind of hysterical (in an I’m-losing-my-marbles kind of way) that the last time I ran six miles, I did it six seconds faster, with a hell of a lot less effort.

But I guess I gained something as-yet-intangible from this run? I’m going with yes.

Tonight I am drinking a beer that’s been burning a hole in my fridge for a good month now.

Three Floyds’ Black Sun Stout. It’s “only” 6.5% ABV/50 IBU. FFF says it’s got coffee, hops and roasted malts; I’m also getting a nice strong something-like-a-cigar flavor. It’s out of this world.

Compared to this? Guinness is Diet Dr. Pepper in a can.

You might not hear from me for a few days, but everything’s cool. I’m off work until Monday. Expect a whiny, crying blog post on Tuesday about how I had to go to work on Tuesday.

Goodbye.

3 thoughts on “thpeedy thursday

  1. Bless you for being legit funny, not just blogger funny. It’s impossible not to laugh out loud when I say “thpeedy” in my head.

    I request more Colbert quotes, and more typos that stay.

  2. WTF RIGHT!??! I cannot figure running out. Some days it’s a sufferfest just to eke out a freaking recovery run, and other days I’m basically an imaginary olympian, pace-wise… effortlessly. That is a great quote.

  3. HAHA I like your blog post title too.

    That beer sounds right up my alley. I always google the beers you drink to find out if I can buy them in my area. Beer nerd alert.

Leave a Reply

