when beers exceed mileage

Yeah so, a dude won my contest. The irony.

I knew I liked this guy when I went to his blog and saw posts titled “Dirty Whore(s)” and “If you call it a staycation I will stab you.”

This could be the start of a beautiful friendship.

Sir: if you would be so kind as to email me, I shall get thee thy prize. I actually have something a little cooler in mind than my “vintage” sports bra and some trash. The post-its, as promised, will be yours for the posting.

One more thing: I noticed you spelled “favourite” wrong. If this means you are overseas, I am going to be right pissed.

Moving on.

This week has been a little…unorthodox.

Number of beers I’ve drank: 5
Number of miles I’ve run: 4

While this is generally not preferred, it does happen, and you really just have to roll with it.

I should be up to at least 10 miles at this point in the week, but my Thursday six got scrapped in favor of drinking (which I will get to momentarily).

I plan to do my normal easy three miles on Saturday followed by a punishing niner on Sunday. (“Did I catch a ‘niner’ in there? Were you calling from a walkie-talkie?”)

Now, about those beers.

Beer #1: I already shared Obovoid with you.

Beer #2: Wednesday night, I drank Stone’s Vertical Epic 10.10.10., which is meant to be aged until December 12, 2012; but I had nothing else in the house to drink except a bottle of Jameson and a 2010 Dark Lord , and you will probably agree either of those on a Wednesday night would just be asking for trouble.

So SVE it was.

10.10.10., ninth in the Stone Vertical Epic Ale series, is a 9.5% ABV Belgian-style golden triple with: “dried chamomile flowers, triticale, and Belgian amber candi sugar…just-pressed Muscat, Gewurztraminer and Sauvignon Blanc grapes from South Coast Winery.”

Intriguing, yes?

DBR reviewed this beer back in December (so I at least lasted three months longer than he did which I think is something to be admired).

His thoughts: “Fruity grape and apple aroma along with sweet honeysuckle. Cider-like, acidic fruity flavor start. That coupled with some sweet sugar and an alcohol burn make for an interesting introduction. Whew!”

So I anticipated it being rather sweet and paired it with my world (not really) famous spicy chicken enchiladas, – just as you might pair a fruity white wine with a spicy dish – and obviously since I thought of it, it was great idea. The spicy in the enchiladas brought out the complex fruity tones in the beer and kept the flavors from being too overwhelming. It would be nice to try this beer again after the recommended date.

Beer #3: Last night, we went with some friends to a well-known Irish pub, which turned out to be terrible idea. If you’re impatient and you don’t like people, a well-known Irish pub is the absolute worst place to go on St. Patrick’s Day. (Our theory is that SPDs are better spent in Chicago, where the Irish pubs outnumber the Starbucks. But when you live in a city where the Irish pub is more of a novelty, everyone has the same idea and St. Patrick’s Day is kind of a mess.) We drank the obligatory Guinness and left.

Headed down the road a few miles to Black Swan Brew Pub. It opened earlier this year and is host to a great variety of local guest brews while they prepare to begin brewing their own beer. The food’s also top-notch; I recommend the bison burger.

Everything was much more chill at Black Swan, AND AND AND there was a freshly tapped keg of Dreadnaught (queue: squeal).

Beer #4: At Black Swan, they sell Dready by the half-pint for the sake of both conservation and – methinks – liability. (I might have forgotten to tell our friend it’s a 9.5% ABV beer before vehemently encouraging him to order one. My bad!) I had two half-pints which I am taking the liberty of counting as one beer.

Beer #5: The aforementioned adorably beer-clueless friend next ordered a Flat12 Bierwerks’ Joe Brahma Coffee Brown — and he hated it! Too bad for him, but lucky for me. I freakin’ LOVED it. It was rich with smoky, roasty coffee flavors. The perfect after-bison burger beer.

Phew! That was a blog post and a half.

Let’s review:

  • Contest winner: a yucky ucky boy
  • Running: will get it’s due attention this weekend
  • Beer: got drank a lot this week

All of this will be on the quiz.

12 thoughts on “when beers exceed mileage

  1. bwah ha ha ha ha…he’s not overseas, he’s in Crapchester and he just likes British-isms.

    Everyone needs a week or 6 where beer > miles. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Will your bra size be on the quiz?

  2. Hey. First, if I ever won that contest, what would I tell my wife when your used bra showed up on my doorstep? Thus, my non participation.

    Second, thanks for the plug. I am betting that you thought my description was perfect. There are at least a dozen bottles of that 10.10.10 at my local Total Wine, so I am waiting for 1. them to age it for me and 2. for them to get so tired of seeing it in their display that they discount it around $5 off the bottle. Fair?

    Later, gator. Work is really getting in the way of my NCAA basketball watching time.

  3. Pingback: running for spite « Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

