things

First of all, I had so much fun reading your comments on yesterday’s playlist post. That was one of those I have nothing to say so I’ll do this… kind of posts (which, in hindsight probably should have gone in the flow chart), but it turned out to be really fun because of you guys. So, thanks.

Tomorrow, I’m running a 15k and I actually feel good about it…right now. Based on however I’m feeling after any given run, I neurotically go from dreading long races…to feeling confident…then back to dread again.

But last night was good: I did a mile warm-up at 10:00; four miles at 9:30-9:40 and what was supposed to be a mile cool-down but felt so good I just kept running (Forrest Gump style) at tempo pace instead of cooling down.

It felt good, but it probably means the tempo part wasn’t tempo-y enough and I wasn’t giving it my all. I probably could have done five at that pace instead of four and then done the mile cool-down for a total of seven. Or done four at a 9:15-9:20. Regardless, it boosted my confidence going into tomorrow’s 15k and that’s really all I care about at this point.

TEH HUBZ is selflessly accompanying me to the race tomorrow, even though I told him he didn’t have to go. (If you haven’t read it yet, Shelby wrote a great post today about the sacrifices our non-running partners make.)

I’m grateful to have a husband who is willing to stand around downtown (possibly in the rain) and wait for me to finish this race in what I’m hoping will be no longer than an hour and 35 minutes.

Sidenote: During my first marathon, he did manage to squeeze in a quickie champagne brunch at the Hyatt. (One of the perks of the wifey running a 5:30 + marathon: even between cheering at mile markers, he still had some time to kill.) So don’t feel too bad for him.

MORE FUN: Check out this interview Chimp Refuge held with Angry Runner. It’s a riot.

Last, I got to write a guest post for Hollaback Health this week! I really inspired myself while I was writing (and photographing!) it, so I hope it inspires you too.

Have a great weekend!

7 thoughts on “things

  1. 15k was a rough distance for me. Then again, it was my worst race to date for various reasons- I doubt the exact distance was really that much of a factor. “inbetween” weather is total bullshit.

    I wish you the best of luck! And have an awesome weekend! Cheers!

  2. Good luck this weekend. I think one of the reasons I was so unmotivated during my 10 miler was because I had no one there to cheer for me. Sad face.

  3. Good luck in the 15K! I like that distance b/c it’s generally not a puke-worthy distance (except in extreme heat) but long enough to make me feel I earned a big-ass brunch + drinks after the finish. Hell, I’d have those anyway 🙂

    I’m heading to STL to run the marathon relay with my siblings, think we’ll have about the same weather as you this weekend. Warm and rainy.

Leave a Reply

