fragmented

I’ve been having a problem lately.

I can’t seem to finish the mileage I set out to run.

As Tracy so eloquently pointed out, this is just pathetic:

I’m not OCD.

I couldn’t care less if I ran 8.01 or 4.23, but when I set out to do six miles, I feel like, I don’t know, call me crazy, I should at least do six miles. And 5.73 doesn’t count. It just doesn’t.

I think cranky and unmotivated is a good way to describe my disposition.

What’s weird is, I’ve never felt better. My knees and shins have been treating me like royalty. I’ve haven’t had to ice anything in months.

But then lazy sneaks up on me, pushes me down and puts its foot on my neck. Rude.

This is my last full week of running before the half marathon (although if we’re being honest, I totally tapered last week and only ran 15.62 miles instead of 20). Next week I taper. Again. Ish.

So I’ll do 12 11.82 miles at some point this weekend and I’ll try not to whine about it, but no promises.

Isn’t spring typically the season when running starts being fun again?

Also:

“I’m tired of these self-righteous environmentalists, these white, bourgeois liberals who think the only thing wrong with this country is there aren’t enough bicycle paths. People trying to make the world safe for their Volvos. Besides, environmentalists don’t give a shit about the planet. They don’t care about the planet. Not in the abstract they don’t. You know what they’re interested in? A clean place to live. Their own habitat. They’re worried that some day in the future, they might be personally inconvenienced. Narrow, unenlightened self-interest doesn’t impress me.”

Kisses!

14 thoughts on “fragmented

  1. How about just forcing yourself to walk the last .whatever? Anyway, I know how you feel–my first interval workout in 6.5 years was only 11.5 laps, not 12, although usually I don’t have trouble when I set out to run X miles, maybe because I typically run on an out and back loop, which lies on trail marked every half mile? Anyway, one of my friends recommended your blog to me, so I guess I’ll be following your progress. Good luck in the half!

    • But then walking throws off my average pace!

      Now that sounded bad…

      I used to rely on the out-and-back but I’ve been doing the same one for so, long it bores me to tears.

      And also I’d have nothing to complain about.

      Thanks for stoppin’ by!

  2. I totally saw what I wrote and tried to like it. I was like, “good one, Tracy!” Because I’m lame like that.

    I dunno… I kind of envy your attitude, given that my Garmin can tell you that I ran back and forth down my block FOUR times Wednesday to finish my 5m run. I mean, ultimately these training schedule prescriptions aren’t set in stone, right? I mean, you might be f-ed if you were doing 2m every time your schedule calls for 5, but doing 5.73 when your schedule calls for 6? I kinda miss the pre-garmin days when I only knew roughly how far I’d gone ever.

    • Laura likes to like all her own remarks, if that says anything… =P

      Pace ignorance is bliss…pre-garmin, I could fool myself into thinking I was running much faster and thus, “have probably done AT LEAST six by now…”

  3. You should put George Carlin audio on your Ipod and run to that. He never gets old. You’ll probably end up at 6.04 because you were laughing so hard you forgot to stop running.

  4. I’m working on being ok with 5.56 and things like that. I just can’t stand not seeing something end with a .5 or .0. Except for 3.1, 6.2, 13.1…one day 26.2

    I’m also working on running in general. I’m saying I took this week off because of my hip – and partially it’s true since I have a race in a week and I don’t want to totally F it up before that/during that. But also I’ve just been lazy.

    • Gah, I have a category dedicated to stupid f****ing injuries. So hard to take time off for those things but you’ll be glad you did! You’re gonna spank this race’s PANK ASS!

    • ha! I love it. I admit if I know I’ve done a X.25 mile run, I will try to even it out by doing a X.75 at some point later on. Just looks prettier.

  5. I’m new to the Garmin club and I’m rapidly finding it stresses me out far more than running with a regular watch on a mapped route. I agonize over my pace and distance and freak out about accuracy when it says I’m running a 13:someodd pace when I feel like I’m running exactly the same as when it says I’m at a 10:someodd pace.

    I need to chill the hell out is basically the moral of this story.

    • I know. I have a hard time not glancing at the thing every tenth of a mile. I think sometimes it helps me push harder to get the numbers I want, but I think it can also be a crutch.

Leave a Reply

