important reading for children and parents

I received some wonderful gifts from a dear friend this week, and I just wanted to share them with you. I think these books are really essential reading material for anyone who is thinking about becoming a parent, or even just those of you who love to give advice to other people about how they should raise their children.

Go the Fuck To Sleep by Adam Mansbach
Quite simply, this book is a delight. The artwork is very calming, and the rhythm and meter of the poetry is soothing and melodic, so you can get away with actually reading this to your kids (until they figure out how to repeat all the curse bombs you’re saying).

I read it to our little porkchop in the womb and she responds with little hiccups and kicks of pure joy.

Monsters Eat Whiny Children by Bruce Eric Kaplan
This will remain a truly cherished tome in my daughter’s library for years to come. Simplistic, straightforward, yet endearing and hilarious. And it’s a true story, which makes it all the more memorable.

Bonus: it may also help you figure out whether or not you’re in the mood for Indian food, which I think is really important.




[image source]

Raising the Perfect Child Through Guilt and Manipulation by Elizabeth Beckwith
This one’s for parents. I’m only a few chapters into it, but I have already learned invaluable lessons about raising children, like how to scare the crap out of your child in a positive way. I highly recommend this book to all parents who think Dr. Spock was an asshole. (No, not that Dr. Spock.)

Are there any other good parenting books out there I should be reading? OMG…does anyone want to start a book club??

P.S. I know it’s Friday, but I got tired of writing haiku. If you have another Friday gimmick you think I should try out, let me know.

12 thoughts on “important reading for children and parents

  1. I loved the Samuel L. Jackson narrated version of Go The Fuck To Sleep that went around on FB a while back. Like, LOVED it. And I don’t even have any spawnz.

  2. Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mom, also Nation of Wimps (think that’s the title?)

    Basically they both focus on NOT raising pansies.

  3. I say skip the books and just play hours of Dead Kennedys and Misfits to mold their little minds and toughen them up. Maybe they’ll even be inspired to play an instrument? Win-mothereffing-win.

Leave a Reply

