running update part deux

So I was starting to feel like a major badass this week after going to the gym and run/walking on the treadmill for two days in a row. (Doctor cleared me to run, just told me not to do anything stupid. I’m so glad he didn’t tell me to listen to my body.)

Then last night, as I lay snoozing with the baby in the recliner and watching the 49ers/Giants game, I started feeling ominously chilly. I sat there contemplating, not wanting to miss the end of the game, and REALLY not wanting to wake the baby. It didn’t take long before my entire body began to ache and I was visibly shivering. I climbed out of the chair -queue: baby scream- and teetered to the hall closet to dig out the thermometer. 100.4, and the evening continued in a downward spiral from there: I missed OT and royally pissed off the baby. She thought it would be the perfect time to play the game where she falls asleep with the pacifier in her mouth, spits it out, and then wakes up and screams until you put it back in there. Repeat 50x.

I finally brought her in bed with me (BAD MOM!) and made her a nest out of the Snoogle so I could at least lay down while we played the pacifier game. In three shirts, flannel pants and a heating pad shoved up against my back, I finally fell asleep (and so did she). When I woke up a few hours later, the fever was gone and I felt perfectly fine. So weird.

Now that you’re up to speed, let’s talk about the running, shall we?

Pale, fat and optimistic, I doubled up on the sports bras Saturday and went to the gym for the first time in more than six weeks. My running shorts “fit” me again, but they look a little obscene, plus my incision is still tender, so I opted for the maternity crops. BIG mistake. (Julia Roberts: “HUGE!”) I kept having to hitch them up to keep my unsightly belly from hanging out.

I  did a 2:2 run/walk for two miles and managed a 10:00-11:00 pace (mostly closer to 11s, if we’re being honest) on the running end. Then I walked another mile. It all felt pretty gnarly and awkward, but really not as bad as I thought. Oh, except my right boob started leaking milk halfway through. Luckily my shirt was black and it wasn’t too noticeable.

Sunday, I ran for 15 minutes without stopping at about a 10:40 pace. It still felt kind of awkward, but I’m not sore today at all, which I think is really promising. (Yeah, I did come down with that four-hour mystery fever, but at least my crotch doesn’t hurt!)

So anyway, obviously my immune system is weak from the lack of sleep and I probably need to ease it up a notch. Thankfully, Kenzie slept straight through until almost 5 a.m. this morning -a MAJOR milestone- and I got some decent sleep.

Right now, I’m wearing her in the Moby wrap and she’s out cold! So goddamn cute.

16 thoughts on “running update part deux

  1. Though I am nowhere near the point of having kids in my life, the fact still remains that one of my greatest fears is being sick and having to take care of a baby. Bringing her into bed with you is completely understandable. At least it wasn’t the stomach flu. THAT would not be a good time.

  2. Is that a cat butt in the background there?

    15 minutes straight sounds pretty impressive to me, coming off a six week hiatus! I cannot imagine running with stuff leaking out of my boobs. Talk about a chafing risk…

    • Heh, I think 90% of my photos have a cat butt in the background.

      Yeah, I’m going to have to remedy the leakage situation before I get into any higher mileage runs. I can’t believe I just typed that. My life. Fuck. (Okay she’s worth it.)

  3. you are seriously amazing for getting out the door and doing it. With boob leakage! Now that’s dedication. She’s so adorable – hooray for getting a decent sleep in

  4. Congratulations on getting back to running and I’m glad your fever was short-lived! I have yet to take care of baby while being sick, but I’m not looking forward to it.

  5. hooray for running! Maybe your leakage problem will sort itself out in the next few weeks. Mine did! Why are you a bad mom for bringing the baby to bed with you? As far as I can tell, babies love that shit, so it can’t be a bad thing!

    • WORD! I also think I just needed to to do a good pumping before going to the gym. Which makes the running much more comfortable anyway.

      “They” (I know, I hate them) say there’s a huge risk of SiDS when babies sleep in your bed, I think mostly due to parents rolling over and smothering the kid, or maybe smothered under the covers. I do like to snuggle with her in there but I try to stay awake when I’m doing it. (and sober, heh!) i’m way to wrapped up in the “rules,” my hippie mom friends make fun of me for being such a tightass.

Leave a Reply

