snowpocalypsemaggedonathon + some training notes

Yeah, so I hate Indiana. We got one glorious day of spring before before another big, ugly snowdump.

NO FAIR

During those few hours when the temperature edged above 45, I did a long run and the kid even got to play around outdoors a little bit. She’s starting to look a little pasty and if there’s one thing I’ve learned from being a parent, it’s that people will judge you for having a pasty baby.

At least I don't have one of those dumb bows on my head.

At least I don’t have one of those dumb bows on my head.

People talk about seasonal affective disorder, which sounds terrible. Me, I just whine a lot about how I am trapped inside the house all the time because the delicate little baby won’t tolerate sub-zero stroller runs. But I think I’m better at coping with it than most people.

drinking1

Even more mind-blowing than that, here’s what my training looked like last week:

Monday: 5.5 (AM treadmill 5.5 @ 8:45 avg + PM 1250 yard pool swim)
Tuesday: 4 (treadmill 4 @ 8:34 avg)
Wednesday: 7 (treadmill progression: warm-up mile at 9:15; then 8:30, 8:15, 8:06, 8:00, 7:40; cool-down at 8:30; 8:20 avg.) This was probably my favorite run of the week.
Thursday: 5 (mile warm-up, 4x800s @ approximately 3:37, 3:32, 3:29, 3:27; half mile jogs in between and half-mile cool-down). That last one really burned.
Friday: 8 (treadmill 2 mile warm-up and weights + PM outside progression 6 @ 8:26 avg) I never would have done this on the day before a long run, but I had to bump up my long run in advance of the snowstorm.
Saturday: 11 (AM 1500 yard pool swim + PM outside impromptu bonkfest, 11 @ 9:07 avg)
Sunday: REST
Total: 40.5

That’s right, I ran a 40 mile week for the first time in my LIFE.

batman-justice

My groin/pectineus/whatever pain has faded away for now. I stayed away from the hill settings on the treadmill and didn’t have any soreness after my long run, which convinces me that the hills really were the trigger and if I stay on the flat and mellow, everything will be cool.

What I’d like to do for the next 20-odd days (as I continue to try not to hurt myself) is focus my training more precisely on the upcoming 6.9 mile race. Novel, right? I said earlier I was aiming for maybe 8:15-8:30 pace but I think I can probably come in closer to 8:00s. So today on the treadmill I a mile warm-up, then a 400, 800, 1200, 800, 400 at a 7:47 pace (with roughly quarter mile jogs in between, a little longer after the 1200), and a mile cool-down. And now I just sit back and magically become faster? Swell.

Anyway, I do like the treadmill for this kind of stuff because I don’t have to think or do math while I’m running. The treadmill’s idiot proof. Beep-boop. Set pace. Run. But the best race prep is going to come next week when (WITH ANY LUCK) I can run outdoors with the stroller again.

Can we please go the fuck outside??

No seriously, can we please go the fuck outside??

4 thoughts on “snowpocalypsemaggedonathon + some training notes

  1. That last picture reminded me of my older son this past week. Second time seeing snow while we were in Colorado and he saw a shitload too. 7 hours of skiing per day wasn’t enough. He wanted to have snowball fights and build forts for hours after too. Guess we should move to Indiana?

  2. Wow, that is some impressive mileage, good work. And yeah, it’s been frustratingly cold and shitty in Chicago, too. I keep threatening to just f’ing put on shorts and a tank top and say screw it.

Leave a Reply

