Irresponsibility Fest ’13

Last weekend we drove to Chicago to visit Kenzie’s aunt and granny, go to a Cubs game, see some friends and drink a lot of beer.

fuck shit up

You might remember that the last time we went to a Cubs game, I got a private tour of Wrigley Field’s old fashioned nursing lounge where I expressed 12 ounces of Old Style laced with breastmilk into a sink during the seventh inning stretch.

This year I got to be utterly irresponsible without having to worry about where the baby’s next meal would come from or whether I’d make it home without springing a leak on the Metra.

cringe

After the Cubs lost (naturally), we hung around Wrigleyville to watch the first period of Game 5, and then made a mad scramble for the 8:40 train. When we got off the train, we noticed a restaurant that had the game on inside their bar, so we ducked inside to watch the last period. Aaaaaand they just happened to have one of my all-time favorite beers on draft.

IMG_5495

Your last beer of the night should never be a Dreadnaught.

I also got to meet up with blogger friends! And you can’t have a blogger meetup without posting pictures of it on your blog, so here we are: Maggie, me, my friend Laurie, and Amy who quit blogging but still has a nice rack.)

Maggie looks all sweet and innocent, but she's actually goosing me in this photo.

Maggie looks all sweet and innocent, but she’s actually goosing me in this photo.

We didn’t eat oats or do crossfit together, and we didn’t take any faux-candid shots of us gazing across a table at each other while sipping iced coffees but there’s always next time.

I did manage to go running once during the weekend, on Saturday. My in-laws live near the Prairie Path, 60 miles of trail located in the western suburbs. I ran about four of them and it rained the whole time. Rock.

When we weren’t drinking beer, we were doing baby things like watching Kenzie play in her kiddie pool and try on everybody’s shoes. We also took her to the Brookfield Zoo, which is incredible.

IMG_5514 IMG_5519We got home Monday evening and crashed hard. Kenzie slept 13 hours that night! Sadly, I was too wrecked to stay up and watch the end of what turned out to be a stunning Blackhawks Stanley Cup win in game 6. I’ll probably have my hockey fan card revoked for admitting that, but I haven’t slept for nine hours straight in years and it was so fucking worth it. (My husband had to be at work at the crack of dawn but he bit the bullet and stayed up anyway. True fan.)

Anyway, I really want to tell you more about the amazing week of running I didn’t have last week, but it’s past my bedtime.

I need my beauty sleep.

I need my beauty sleep.

11 thoughts on “Irresponsibility Fest ’13

  1. Where’s the ass pic? Oh, you made up for it by giving us Amy’s boobs. And I like how you included NO RUNNING BULLSHIT WHATSOEVER in this post. Kind of made my day.

  2. This post made me literally laugh out loud when I read: “We didn’t eat oats or do crossfit together, and we didn’t take any faux-candid shots of us gazing across a table at each other while sipping iced coffees but there’s always next time.” This is one of the many reasons why I love reading your blog. It sounds like you had a fun weekend in Chicago! Maybe next time you come to Chicago, we can meet up with our babies jogging strollers for a photo, even if we only run 0-1 mile with them. 🙂

  3. Fun! I love being irresponsible. Looks like a great OMGBLENDS meetup, too.

    I am so with you on having my hockey fan card revoked. I have not watched more than a few 1st periods of what turned out to be awesome games. This OT business is for the young’ns. I was glad to see the Hawks win.

    • OMG YES. OT about killed me. I’m totes an old lady and go to bed at 9:00 most nights because you just never know when the baby’s going to cut another tooth and be up at 3 a.m. (Or in your case, BABIES.)

  4. Pingback: Training for nothing, week 1.5 | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

