some complaints, with a happy ending

One of the things that annoys me about a lot of these pregnant bloggers is how many of them seem so desperate to maintain the same level of intensity in their workouts as they did before they became pregnant. They post every workout (with a selfie of course) and they diligently note the distance and pace of each run. They proudly exclaim that they haven’t had to modify their workouts and can lift, run, barre, burpee and swim just like always. As if it is somehow admirable that they are tricking their bodies into not behaving how pregnant bodies ordinarily behave.

I know I’m guilty of it too. It’s hard to accept it when something you’re so accustomed to doing effortlessly starts requiring effort. But focusing only on the intensity of a workout makes me feel like I’m taking it for granted that I can work out at all. And plus, nobody gives a shit.

So I’m trying to let go of my preconceived notion of what constitutes a “workout,” and to remind myself that all I really need to do is maintenance. The longer I can keep it up (something, anything), the easier it will be to recover after the baby is born. Even if I just throw some dumb bells around for 15 minutes and then do a mile on the treadmill, it counts. (I didn’t make peace with this concept until around 7-1/2 months last time around, so maybe this demonstrates how much I’ve matured? Except I’m still tracking all my workouts, so maybe not.)

I’ve also made peace with the fact that I’m not working out every day anymore. And lately, it’s been a lot easier for me to rationalize a rest day than in the past. On Saturday, I planned all day to work out as soon as the toddler was down for her nap. But we all had a rough day, I was tired and it was really fucking cold out so I just said fuck it. And I didn’t feel guilty at all. Instead, I felt so relieved that I had a couple hours to just sit on my ass and do nothing.  There will be plenty of time for INTENSITY X INFINITY this August when it’s 100 degrees out and I have two children. Just kidding but not really.

Another thing I’ve learned is that just because it feels okay at the time doesn’t mean i won’t pay for it later. A while back I ran five miles relatively quickly and I was all pleased with myself, but I spent the rest of the day really tired and stiff, and the next morning my crotch hurt.

Anyway I’ll stop rambling. Here are all the workouts I did last week that totally don’t matter:

3 treadmill @ 10:00 avg 3
REST 0
treadmill run/walk @ 10:00 avg 4
Totally wailed on my biceps, brah. 0
elliptical, 40 minutes 0
REST 0
treadmill 3 @ 11:09 avg 3 10

Only 10 miles, but I allowed myself some extra time to do shit at home and I ended the week feeling strong instead of achy and exhausted.

And since I didn’t include any pictures in this post, I’ll leave you with this:

dying fetus of course

metalalbumswithgooglyeyes.tumblr.com/

 You’re welcome.

 

8 thoughts on “some complaints, with a happy ending

  1. I saw a pic on Instagram the other day of someone doing an overhead squat, in a sports bra, with their 8.5 month preggo belly hanging out. And I cringed. Just no, please stop.

  2. Off topic but I have a question about your blog – is it that running and drinking is cheaper than therapy or that blogging about running and drinking is cheaper than therapy? 🙂

    I’m glad you have made peace with working out less. As MILF runner points out, you are growing a whole person! And didn’t you read Emily Oyster – having a drink is totally fine. She did say to drink like a European (slowly with food) so maybe you should have bourbon and bonbons at the same time!

  3. Pingback: hey pregnant women at the gym, nobody cares | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

