What’s up, bitches?

So I don’t really have anything earth-shattering to share with you, but I decided if I don’t get on here and blog something, this precious “space” just might die forever, and then what would you do?

no

It’s been sort of a clusterfuck around here lately, also known as normal life for someone with a baby and a toddler. The toddler is having what probably amounts to pretty typical toddler sleep issues since the transition into her big-girl bed. She gets up several times a night, refuses to go to bed, wakes at the crack of dawn. Naps are spasmodic. We’re working through it and trying to be as understanding and gentle with her as possible while not letting her walk all over us. Or drive us batshit. It’s a delicate balance.

strait-jacket gif

The baby sleeps pretty great most nights though, so it’s rare that I’m up with both of them at the same time. (When that does happen though, oh my fuck.) Codie generally wakes once or twice, nurses for a few minutes and drifts back off to sleep. I’m sure she could do without the nighttime feeds (she’s done it a few times already), but I’m not ready to approach any sleep-training/CIO methods because A) I really don’t mind the nighttime feeds, B) I am terrified of her cries waking up Kenzie, who does not just drift back off to sleep and C) I am a giant pussy and can’t stand to hear my children cry. So the last thing I need at 3 a.m. is TWO of them crying, and if all I have to do to avoid that is pop one of them onto my boob, so be it. She is (with any luck) my last baby, so I might as well savor every special embrace.

struggle hug

In nonbaby news, I signed up for a race! I mentioned in my last post that I don’t want to waste money on a race entry if I’m going to suck at running, but hypocrite that I am, I’m doing it anyway. There’s an afternoon 5k a week from Saturday at a local winery, and I thought it’d be a good benchmark run.

I’m still about 20 pounds overweight and have not yet conquered the elusive 10:00 mile, but I’m starting to feel a little more firm and less flabby. I now fit into two pairs of running shorts and THREE pairs of pants. (I used to call them my fat pants; now they’re just my pants.) I’d like to do a whole post on my thoughts about whether running/working out actually helped me recover faster this time around (spoiler: not really) but for now I’ll just say that the extra weight is hard on my knees and I’m having to do a lot more (meaning, any) strength work and conditioning just to keep from hurting myself.

gif-fat-cat-roll-1101392

I love running with my new smartphone! It eliminates the need for all the other devices I had to carry while running (phone, Garmin, ipod). My only complaint is that the Android phones are so bulky, I feel like I’m running with a tablet on my arm.

stock runner photo

A shame you can’t see my thigh gap from this angle.

Last in shit you don’t care about, we’re flying to Albuquerque in October and I’m sort of terrified. Our last flight was more than a year ago and it did not go well. At least this time, we’ll have the whole row to ourselves. Don’t worry, I’ll be sure to come home with loads of expert tips, like: be sure to take at least four different baby carriers because you never know which one you’ll need; hand out homemade gifts of canned tomatoes to all your seat mates; buy an extra seat for your infant so you don’t have to hold him; pay six bucks for a shitty glass of wine served to you in a plastic cup. (That last one is for real.)

Oh, and just so there’s something other than GIFs in this post, here’s a cute picture of my daughters spending quality time together.

eye poke

#sisters

KISSES.

6 thoughts on “What’s up, bitches?

  1. I think you need a fanny pack for the phone. That would be practical and look super cool at the same time.

    Flying with an infant and a toddler is infinitely more exciting than any other travel. Never ever a dull moment. Or a relaxing one.

    Now that I’m thinking about it…a fanny pack would also be awesome for your trip. Yes. Get a fanny pack ASAP.

  2. What? You have PR’d at a marathon yet? WTF is your problem? Yay for signing up for a race! Racing is really what got me back into running last year. It was a slow burn and now I’m fully addicted (but still not fast).

    I really think that the whole sleep thing when you have more than one kid is problem nobody talks about. I don’t really remember what my oldest did when my middle child was born because I was so sleep deprived, but I’m pretty sure my kid, who NEVER wanted to sleep with us, suddenly wanted to sleep with us all the time. When E came around, my middle child decided that she didn’t want to sleep at all. It was pretty great. I’ve now made it through, but I truly have no idea what’s for the past 16 months. Also, I’m right there with you on the whole CIO thing. I’m a sucker for a crying baby – and it’s just so much easier to nurse/snuggle.

    This is the world’s longest comment – but the travel is going to go great. Or the baby and the toddler will scream, but then you will reward yourself with alcohol. Alls well that ends well.

  3. My old fat pants are the only pre-pregnancy jeans that actually fit. And by fit I mean they give me crazy muffin top, but IDC.
    I’m actually kinda excited that it’s not hot anymore because I like fall/winter running. LA is perfect for that.

    • Me too! Last winter came way too early here, it was already too friggin’ COLD by early October. But yesterday morning was gorgeous! I miss fall in the southwest. 😦

Leave a Reply

