scary things

Today I have a milk clog in my boob and my first 5k in more than six months. I’m furiously trying to pump out the clog because that + a tight, sweaty sports bra seems like a great way to get mastitis.

It’s astonishing how much a plugged duct (#metalbands) can hurt, but once you unplug it, the pain goes away instantly. So, um, there’s your scary TMI breastfeeding fact of the day. (UPDATE: I think I got it!)

Anyway.

ye olde awkward segue GIF

ye olde awkward segue GIF

Since having Codie, I’ve gotten out of the habit of daily writing and reading, and so to try and regain some of my former intellect, I thought I’d CHALLENGE myself to read and write something every day this month. (I know, weak, but bear with me.) On the blog, I’ll keep you up to date with what I’m reading, and I’ll post something scary every day until Halloween.

Of course if I am unable to follow through with this challenge, we’ll just pretend it never happened.

77827-Daniel-Radcliffe-gif-I-tried-a-c7Zn

Never gets old.

So!

What I’m reading right now: Assassination Vacation (2005, so I’m a little late to the party on this one) by Sarah Vowell. She travels around the United States, eagerly researching the assassinations of U.S. Presidents. It’s funny and educational, and it’s an easy read so I can handle it on any amount of sleep.

assassination vacation

Today’s scary thing: the aforementioned milk clog because those of you who’ve had one know how much it sucks (LOL?), and those who haven’t get a nice disgusting mental image to carry with you for the rest of the day.

dry heave

And a bonus scary thing: this old thread from reddit, two-sentence horror stories. I was reading these in bed the other night and I was too scared to go to sleep. This one in particular stuck with me:

I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy there’s somebody on my bed. – justAnotherMuffledVo

I’ll be back tomorrow (or never!) with a dodgy race report and more equally-stimulating blog content. Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “scary things

  1. Where I am in life right now, there is literally nothing more frightening that you could have posted. Glad you got it! Good luck at the race that is most likely now over!

    • Afternoon race so I get to psych myself up for it ALL DAY LONG.

      And sorry to frighten you. Like, continually, every time I post. =D

  2. If you do start veering toward mastitis again and clearing the plug isn’t working, try warm castor oil compresses. They totally did the trick for me. Also it’s helpful to have some “mastitis remedy” homeopathic stuff on hand (available at your local healthfood store). Hope your race went well! And good luck with your #blogeverysinglemotherfuckingday #challenge! I tried that once…

  3. Pingback: Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark | Cheaper Than Therapy

  4. I think Assassination Vacation was one of the first Sarah Vowell books I read and I loved it. I read it during a family trip to Mexico and it was a nice distraction from the bickering. Do you read it and imagine her voice?

    When I was home on leave I liked checking the Longform app or twitter account for new interesting reads.

    Let me know if you need book recs. I might’ve read a little this year.

    • Ha, well NOW I will imagine her voice.

      I’ve read a couple of your book posts, would love some recs. I like everything, fiction/non, whatever!

  5. Pingback: top 10 iconic shitty clowns of my generation | Cheaper Than Therapy

  6. Pingback: A basic bitch weekend + kids | Cheaper Than Therapy

  7. Pingback: October recap | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

