that dodgy race report I promised you

First, the numbers.

I was expecting to run something like a 10:20-10:30 pace, which is what I’ve been doing for last couple of weeks, but the cold weather and my fiercely competitive nature (LOL) came through for me and I finished in 30:20, a 9:45 pace! (Still five minutes slower than my 5k PR but NEVER MIND ALL THAT.) I think the lesson here is that underestimating your ability and under-reporting your training is AWESOME.

i am great

And now, the mundane details.

So it was like, 80 degrees last week when I signed up for this race. It was at a winery. There was going to be a band. Food. I thought we’d bring the kids along and dad would jaunt them around the winery grounds for half an hour while I ran, and we’d all have a merry old time.

Our plans went all to shit on Friday when we saw the race day forecast: 40s and fucking windy.

TV TOSS

Luckily we have a friend who lives just half a mile from the winery and he invited husband and the kids over to hang out while I ran. I still have a non-bottle-drinking baby or else I would have just let them all stay home. I firmly maintain that schlepping your whole family out to a race just to watch you run for like, two seconds is narcissistic and just plain mean.

watch you guys

Anyway, so we went over to the friend’s place, I fed Codie one last time and then jogged the half mile over to the start.

The race part!

I’m not going to write like 17 paragraphs about this 5k. It was sort of a last minute thing and although I’m really excited about exceeding my expectations, it doesn’t rank very high on the race-reports-other-people-will-give-a-shit-about-reading-on-your-blog scale, and I don’t want this to be awkward.

awkward smile

I found a couple of friends who were also running, we took the requisite pre-race photos, and then we were off.

The only tough parts were the brief portions where we ran directly into the wind, but other than that, it was a relatively flat, fast course through the countryside. Corn and horses. No big deal.

football toss

I started out at about a 10:00 pace. I haven’t worn a pacing device in ages (since that pregnant 5k I did back in March!) and I almost forgot I was wearing it until it bleeped at the first mile marker and I realized I could possibly finish in under 30 minutes. (And then I mostly kept my hands inside my sleeves because again, COLD.)

I started feeling really exhilarated and gleeful in the last mile when I was running 9:20s and was close enough to the finish that I knew I wouldn’t blow my load prematurely. I missed racing so much! I can’t wait to do it morelongerfaster again you guys! YAY. That said, I probably won’t sign up for any more races until the baby’s a little older and not so dependent upon my boobs for her sustenance.

What-a-story-mark-gif

And now for my blog challenge items!

Reading: same as yesterday. And I actually only read two pages last night because I was busy getting drunk to make up for skipping the wine at the race (although I did get to take home a pretty wine glass).

2014-10-04 20.57.46

MY PHOTOGRAPHY SKILLS OMG OMG.

And your something scary: a poem! Antigonish by Hughes Mearns.

Yesterday, upon the stair,
I met a man who wasn’t there.
He wasn’t there again today,
I wish, I wish he’d go away…

When I came home last night at three,
The man was waiting there for me
But when I looked around the hall,
I couldn’t see him there at all!
Go away, go away, don’t you come back any more!
Go away, go away, and please don’t slam the door…

Last night I saw upon the stair,
A little man who wasn’t there,
He wasn’t there again today
Oh, how I wish he’d go away…

What is it about? I don’t know! A ghost? A shadow? An hallucination? Maybe something metaphorical like guilt? Who cares?! it’s creepy and fun.

anyway

8 thoughts on “that dodgy race report I promised you

      • Amen. It’s “cold” here in Central TX approximately twice a year. I miss long sleeve running weather so much!

        Congrats and good luck with running morelongerfaster again!

      • Thanks! Yeah, I keep hearing predictions of another brutal winter here so I’m clinging to fall as long as I can.

  1. See, this just re-affirms what I think is an important life lesson. You should always have low expectations. The lower, the better. Then, you can only go up from there.

    So I say hell yeah to your low expectations and your successful race.

  2. 1. Great job, blowing away expectations is always wonderful!
    2. I love Ogden Nash. Love. I recited that poem in a church “open mic night” kind of thing when I was a very creepy-looking 6 year old with old fashioned long braids and prairie dresses. There was disturbed silence when I finished. Oh, and I had a hollow, creepy kid’s voice, too. I think all the other kids sang “Jesus Loves Me” or read Bible verses.

  3. Pingback: October recap | Cheaper Than Therapy

Leave a Reply

